Best way to configure this network? STP Log Issues?

fvelasco
Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Best way to configure this network? STP Log Issues?

Mon Mar 23, 2020 6:29 pm

Hi guys,

I would like to know whats the best configuration for Netonix switches that are all linked together? Do I need STP enabled on switches that are connected directly to each other? I attached some of the logs that show a lot of STP activity and I do see disconnection from time to time. Is this normal? Is there a possibility that the Netonix switches are blocking port 502? For some reason, I can't read that port anymore from the office computer but when I connect to the device locally it reads fine. Sometimes we have to cycle the power on the switch and we're able to read port 502 again. Any thoughts?


Network Diagram.jpg
Network Diagram

Office.PNG

Office config.PNG

Well 5.PNG

Well 5 config.PNG

Electrical Room.PNG

Electrical Room config.PNG

User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 91 times

Re: Best way to configure this network? STP Log Issues?

Mon Mar 23, 2020 7:14 pm

Well best to start with the simple stuff first.
Just reading the logs and looking at your setup. I don't think port 502 is being blocked exactly. It's more likely you're probably routinely losing access because a different link's cycle their connection, then when it comes back up, STP has to disable it, re-converge and enable the correct port again.
So disabling it (in areas where there is no loop on the adjacent switch) would probably give you better access.

But the real question is why are the ports going down. From what I see in you're setup it could be as simple as just disabling flow control on all the switches. It has been known to cause trouble like this with links over radio because as the carrier signal fluctuates, the capacity varies and can confuse the flow-control feature and cause it to stop the link's temporarily causing "spurts" like this.

More info:
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=5462&p=29582&hilit=+flow+control#p29582
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=5332&p=29029&hilit=+flow+control#p29029
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=4909&p=27887&hilit=+flow+control#p27887


By the way thank you for providing detailed information.

fvelasco
Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Best way to configure this network? STP Log Issues?

Tue Mar 24, 2020 5:02 pm



@stephen

After turning flow control off on all devices. I'm now showing a lot of errors on a device? Any advice?
Here's some pictures

Errors.PNG

config errors.PNG

fvelasco
Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Best way to configure this network? STP Log Issues?

Tue Mar 24, 2020 5:03 pm

Stephen wrote:Well best to start with the simple stuff first.
Just reading the logs and looking at your setup. I don't think port 502 is being blocked exactly. It's more likely you're probably routinely losing access because a different link's cycle their connection, then when it comes back up, STP has to disable it, re-converge and enable the correct port again.
So disabling it (in areas where there is no loop on the adjacent switch) would probably give you better access.

But the real question is why are the ports going down. From what I see in you're setup it could be as simple as just disabling flow control on all the switches. It has been known to cause trouble like this with links over radio because as the carrier signal fluctuates, the capacity varies and can confuse the flow-control feature and cause it to stop the link's temporarily causing "spurts" like this.

More info:
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=5462&p=29582&hilit=+flow+control#p29582
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=5332&p=29029&hilit=+flow+control#p29029
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=4909&p=27887&hilit=+flow+control#p27887


By the way thank you for providing detailed information.



See Above

User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 91 times

Re: Best way to configure this network? STP Log Issues?

Tue Mar 24, 2020 5:11 pm

Are you still losing access to port 502?

fvelasco
Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Best way to configure this network? STP Log Issues?

Tue Mar 24, 2020 5:29 pm

Stephen wrote:Are you still losing access to port 502?


From 3 netonix switches away that are all linked together via ethernet cable I cannot read port 502. But when I connect to the local netonix switch which the PLC is connected to I am able to read the port no problem.

User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 91 times

Re: Best way to configure this network? STP Log Issues?

Tue Mar 24, 2020 5:44 pm

Well we may need to know a bit more information.
Are there any VLANs besides the management VLAN?

fvelasco
Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Best way to configure this network? STP Log Issues?

Tue Mar 24, 2020 7:51 pm

Stephen wrote:Well we may need to know a bit more information.
Are there any VLANs besides the management VLAN?


No VLAN configuration on any of the switches. STP configuration has been left as default. No changes have been made to them.


Changes made so far to try to fix this issue:

On all switches
Disabled all discovery tabs
Disabled flow control
Disabled SNMP
Disabled SMTP
Disabled POE Smart on non POE ports

User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 91 times

Re: Best way to configure this network? STP Log Issues?

Wed Mar 25, 2020 3:37 pm

The only other thing I can think of is a bug that existed pre-1.5.5 that prevented MAC address changes from propagating through a network correctly.
Are all of your switches running the latest?

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 236 times

Re: Best way to configure this network? STP Log Issues?

Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:25 pm

fvelasco wrote:After turning flow control off on all devices. I'm now showing a lot of errors on a device?


You don't see error, you see fragmented packets and collisions. The collisions are probably you problem.

Those happen when the speed and rate are not the same on both side. It often happen when one side is autoneg and the other, forced to a speed and duplex. Force both side or leave both side at autoneg.

Fragmented packets is not an error but could lead to performance issue. Make sure you MTU is high enough on every devices.

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests