Please add CPU utilization to your SNMP values

User avatar
Brough
Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:40 pm
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Please add CPU utilization to your SNMP values

Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:45 am

I have a switch which occasionally stops responding to ping requests. Nothing downstream has a problem and we've had no customer complaints, so the data paths are all ok. Logging into the switch I can see nothing suspicious in the configuration, status or the logs. However, yesterday morning when I logged in, the CPU was pinned at 100%. I was distracted by other events and when I returned ~5 minutes later, CPU utilization had dropped to less than 25%. Logging in today, CPU utilization is running 14-24 %. Obviously, I'd like to know the history of CPU utilization and see if it correlates with the ping outages.

This switch has been in service for a number of years. It's board rev D running firmware 1.4.7. It's being hit with a burst ten pings from Smokeping once every 2 minutes and an SNMP query from NetXMS once every 2 minutes. Otherwise it hasn't been touched for years.

Most of our other devices (radios, routers, switches) report CPU utilization via SNMP. Is is easy to add this value to the Netonix MIB?

jefa
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:39 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Please add CPU utilization to your SNMP values

Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:37 am

It already has CPU-load via SNMP. I know we monitor this with PRTG. It is not in the Netonix specific MIB, but in a more generic MIB (I don't know which one we used in our PRTG monitoring). Try a MIB you would use on a linux host.

User avatar
Brough
Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:40 pm
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Please add CPU utilization to your SNMP values

Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:52 pm

Ah, of course - should have thought of that.
Thanks

User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Please add CPU utilization to your SNMP values

Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:33 pm

On that note, I've tested this with this MIB file:

https://github.com/hardaker/net-snmp/bl ... MP-MIB.txt

All the value's under ssCpu* are available for you to monitor.

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests