Port Isolation

Baynn
Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 7:52 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Port Isolation

Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:20 pm

A quick question which I did not see answered when I searched, though it may be buried in there somewhere. Does Port Isolation work from switch to switch. Say, I have it enabled on ports 2-6 at one tower site, and at a separate tower site it is also enabled on 2-6, can those ports communicate? These towers are linked via port 1, which does not have isolation enabled.

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 190 times

Re: Port Isolation

Thu Oct 25, 2018 4:27 pm

Isolated ports can't communicate with isolated port but can communicate with non isolated port.

User avatar
Eric Stern
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:41 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 128 times

Re: Port Isolation

Fri Oct 26, 2018 10:58 am

Baynn wrote:A quick question which I did not see answered when I searched, though it may be buried in there somewhere. Does Port Isolation work from switch to switch. Say, I have it enabled on ports 2-6 at one tower site, and at a separate tower site it is also enabled on 2-6, can those ports communicate? These towers are linked via port 1, which does not have isolation enabled.


It does not work between switches.

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 190 times

Re: Port Isolation

Fri Oct 26, 2018 11:23 am

I misread.

I think you should try to isolate port 1 on uplink switch so uplink for switch 2 could pass through switch 1 but switch 1 isolated port couldn't go through switch 2.
Attachments
iso between 2 switch.png
iso between 2 switch.png (8.82 KiB) Viewed 364 times

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests