WS-12-250-DC won't power up

User avatar
kennaster
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:30 pm
Location: Oregon
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

WS-12-250-DC won't power up

Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:29 pm

See description below. Is there a internal circuit reset on the WS-12-250-DC or is this switch fried?


"Friday morning I tested out the new ethernet cable + splitter + voltage converter + stardot camera. Something went wrong.
1) I pulled a 48 VDC -> 12 VDC converter from an unused set up. I confirmed at this point that the converter was receiving 48VDC from the power supply and putting out 12VDC.
2) I put the converter in line with the power jack on a static POE splitter. I plugged the jack on the splitter into the 48V side of the converter, and plugged the 12V end of the converter into the camera. I also plugged the ethernet part of the splitter into the camera.
3) I signed onto the netonix switch with my laptop and turned port 3 on, to 48V (.75A).
4) I plugged the 70ft ethernet cable I made into the POE splitter, then into the switch. At this point all the power on the switch went out."

Thanks again,
AK

Edit: Performed cold reset. no response after 5min.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6543
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1496 times
Been thanked: 1161 times

Re: WS-12-250-DC won't power up

Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:49 pm

You should NEVER plug a cable into a port with POE turned on.

If something is wrong it will damage the switch, the switch has the ability to detect a cross short and refuse to turn POE on.

My guess is the switch board is toast but can not tell until you RMA it.

RMA the unit.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
kennaster
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:30 pm
Location: Oregon
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: WS-12-250-DC won't power up

Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:39 pm

Okay, this was my guess. Good help is hard to find these days. I'll set up an RMA now.
Thanks

cable guy
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 5:34 pm
Location: British Columbia
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WS-12-250-DC won't power up

Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:06 pm

WS-12-250-DC Failed, Dead

Where on this forum site is the RMA form ?

Am I blind or is in plain site

Dave

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6543
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1496 times
Been thanked: 1161 times

Re: WS-12-250-DC won't power up

Wed Oct 31, 2018 7:46 pm

cable guy wrote:WS-12-250-DC Failed, Dead

Where on this forum site is the RMA form ?

Am I blind or is in plain site

Dave


CLICK IMAGE BELOW TO VIEW FULL SIZE
RMA.png
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests