Drawing Too Much Power?

midsizewisp
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Drawing Too Much Power?

Wed May 16, 2018 10:40 am

We are running the new Bridgewave FL4G-10000 radios and they appear to be very power hungry. Currently drawing
almost 74W when using 48VH. We have a couple radios in a DC-12-250-DC. Total switch power draw is only 162W.
Will this cause any issues?
Attachments
PowerDraw.png
PowerDraw.png (1.42 KiB) Viewed 73 times

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6181
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1457 times
Been thanked: 1110 times

Re: Drawing Too Much Power?

Wed May 16, 2018 10:56 am

Please update to v1.5.0rc4

Then hover mouse over watts on the port row which will cause a POP up showing watts on each pair.

Take a screen grab and post it up.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

midsizewisp
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Drawing Too Much Power?

Wed May 16, 2018 12:08 pm

Image attached. 34.1 & 35.1 W.
Attachments
PowerDraw.png
PowerDraw.png (11.63 KiB) Viewed 66 times

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6181
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1457 times
Been thanked: 1110 times

Re: Drawing Too Much Power?

Wed May 16, 2018 1:11 pm

So if you read this post: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1178#p8809

48V POE Option @.75A - constant draw can surge/spike to 1A:
802.3af/at MODE B pinout
You would use this option to power most 802.3af/at devices like IP Phones and Cameras
Pair 3 / PINs 4, 5 are POSITIVE
Pair 2 & 4 / PINs 3, 6, 7, 8 are NEGATIVE


So each pair going through the Ethernet Transformer Center Tab is rated at 1A (50 watts) and 48VH uses 2 pair for positive and 2 pair for Negative so the Transformer is rated to push up to 2A of power but this is the MAX rating.

Your screen grab shows less than 50W per pair

Another thing is the PolyFuses are rated to 1.5A (75 watts) at 55C environment so as long as the environment is cooler than that you "should" be OK.

Keep in mind what we call 48V POE option is really 50V (see Device/Status TAB on board 48V readings)

So 1.5 amps would be 1.5A x 50V = 75 watts (constant draw)
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests