WS-26-500-DC REBOOT ISSUE EXPLAINED

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6892
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1537 times
Been thanked: 1214 times

Re: WS-26-500-DC REBOOT ISSUE EXPLAINED

Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:45 pm

Please disable Discovery Protocols Ubiquiti / Cisco / LLDP and the Discovery TAB on the Device/Configuration TAB.

See if that makes a differnce.

If not then if possible disable STP/RSTP and see if that helps.

Also please post up a COMPLETE grab of your Device/Configuration TAB after disabling Discovery.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

dheberlee
Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WS-26-500-DC REBOOT ISSUE EXPLAINED

Tue Feb 19, 2019 2:04 pm

discovery was all unchecked to start with.

here is the answer I received from the tower crew:


It was a new service when we started there, dedicated 20 amp circuit. The ground is 150’ to ground rod. The ground rod is separate from the electrical.
Attachments
scc-sw-config2-2-19-19.PNG
scc-sw-config1-2-19-19.PNG

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6892
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1537 times
Been thanked: 1214 times

Re: WS-26-500-DC REBOOT ISSUE EXPLAINED

Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:07 pm

dheberlee wrote:It was a new service when we started there, dedicated 20 amp circuit.

OK
dheberlee wrote:The ground is 150’ to ground rod.

WHATS DOES THIS MEAN?
dheberlee wrote:The ground rod is separate from the electrical.

WHATS DOES THIS MEAN?
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

dheberlee
Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WS-26-500-DC REBOOT ISSUE EXPLAINED

Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:53 am

The electrical service is dedicated to only our box.
The ground bar that we are using is connected to a ground rod that is 150' below the box on the ground.
The ground bar we are using is not bonded with the electrical ground.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6892
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1537 times
Been thanked: 1214 times

Re: WS-26-500-DC REBOOT ISSUE EXPLAINED

Wed Feb 20, 2019 11:08 am

dheberlee wrote:The electrical service is dedicated to only our box.
The ground bar that we are using is connected to a ground rod that is 150' below the box on the ground.
The ground bar we are using is not bonded with the electrical ground.


So you mounted this switch in a BOX 150' up on a tower?
Are the batteries also up in the box on the tower?
I am confused.


You do realize that electrical service ground rods should always be bonded to the tower ground rods otherwise you have 2 ground potentials that are being bonded by your switch/ethernet cable/radios and ground current will flow between the 2 ground potentials via your switch/ethernet cable/radios.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

dheberlee
Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WS-26-500-DC REBOOT ISSUE EXPLAINED

Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:03 pm

This is located on a grain elevator. Yes batteries are located with the switch.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6892
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1537 times
Been thanked: 1214 times

Re: WS-26-500-DC REBOOT ISSUE EXPLAINED

Wed Feb 20, 2019 2:00 pm

Does the grain mill have any ground rods?

Also keep in mind that the grain mill itself will have its electrical service ground bonded to the grain mill steel as they have motors, lights and such on the structure.

I think you said you installed your own electrical service for this site?
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

dheberlee
Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WS-26-500-DC REBOOT ISSUE EXPLAINED

Wed Feb 20, 2019 2:59 pm

yes, we usually have a dedicated breaker ran up from the main service.

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 273 times
Been thanked: 337 times

Re: WS-26-500-DC REBOOT ISSUE EXPLAINED

Wed Feb 20, 2019 6:56 pm

dheberlee wrote:yes, we usually have a dedicated breaker ran up from the main service.

120V or 240V? On a long 120V feed, there will be voltage drop on both the hot and voltage rise on the neutral but the neutral needs to stay at ground potential.

On a 240V spit, there are two 120V hots and one neutral. So as long as both hots are balanced WRT load, there is little to no current on the neutral and so no voltage potential rise on the neutral referenced to ground.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6892
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1537 times
Been thanked: 1214 times

Re: WS-26-500-DC REBOOT ISSUE EXPLAINED

Thu Feb 21, 2019 12:56 pm

OK I need to re-ask these question, please be specific and answer as complete as possible because I am unclear on them and they are important.

Do you have your own electrical service or are you just pulling a circuit from the existing grain mill service?

Does the grain mill structure itself have any ground rods separate from the electrical service or services if you have a differnt service than they use?

Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

PreviousNext
Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests