Path cost for Master/Backup link

Seb65
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Path cost for Master/Backup link

Wed Sep 11, 2019 1:47 am

Hello,

I can not use Netonix switchs to use a main path and a backup path.
No problem to do that with CISCO...

Today I replaced the CISCO by NETONIX but it does not work!
Image
Which configuration should we use, do you have an example of production?

I tried the path cost on both ends switches : Master 200 and backup 300
Image

If I disable the Master port on a switch the traffic does not fail over the backup, I lose the network...

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 236 times

Re: Path cost for Master/Backup link

Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:45 am

We would need the stp output on all switch when you cut the master port.

Since main and backup link are between the same switch, you could also use a lower priority on the master.

Seb65
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Path cost for Master/Backup link

Sun Sep 29, 2019 6:18 am

Since main and backup link are between the same switch, you could also use a lower priority on the master.


I have to use the following configuration on each switch of the towers ?

Master => Priority 96 AND Path cost 200
Backup => Priority 112 AND Path cost 300

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 236 times

Re: Path cost for Master/Backup link

Sun Sep 29, 2019 2:14 pm

You could configure both but port priority only would be fine.

Port priority would make more sense with your setup since those are parallel links through the same path (same switchs through the path).

Seb65
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Path cost for Master/Backup link

Mon Sep 30, 2019 2:01 am

I think that NETONIX must have a problem ?? New switch with firmware 1.5.4...

I just connected the NETONIX on the CISCO (is the root bridge 30e4.db87.d600), the NETONIX does not tell me the CISCO MAC :headb: :screwb:

Image
I just did the same manipulation with a CISCO and this one takes again the MAC of the root bridge!!! The problem is only with NETONIX switches !!!

Code: Select all
C2960L-8TS-LL#sh spanning-tree vlan 200

VLAN200
 Spanning tree enabled protocol rstp
 Root ID Priority 26576
 Address 30e4.db87.d600
 Cost 4
 Port 10 (GigabitEthernet0/10)
 Hello Time 2 sec Max Age 20 sec Forward Delay 15 sec

 Bridge ID Priority 34768 (priority 32768 sys-id-ext 200)
 Address 0045.1d23.bb80
 Hello Time 2 sec Max Age 20 sec Forward Delay 15 sec
 Aging Time 300 sec


User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 236 times

Re: Path cost for Master/Backup link

Mon Sep 30, 2019 7:37 am

RSTP is not VLAN aware while you configure the spanning tree inside of vlan 200. You seem to be using PVST+, a Cisco proprietary protocol I'm not familiar with. You need to use the global rstp, not the one available inside of a VLAN.

Seb65
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Path cost for Master/Backup link

Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:31 am

On my CISCO I use the spanning-tree mode rapid-pvst

Cisco have this options :
Code: Select all
   mst         Multiple spanning tree mode
  pvst        Per-Vlan spanning tree mode
  rapid-pvst  Per-Vlan rapid spanning tree mode



My NETONIX I use RSTP, I do not understand what change should I make on CISCO ?

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 236 times

Re: Path cost for Master/Backup link

Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:57 pm

PVST is cisco propritary. I'm not familiar with Cisco spanning-tree config but the documentation should contain the answer.

Are you in the global config or in the vlan 200 ? What is the Cisco switch model ?

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 236 times

Re: Path cost for Master/Backup link

Mon Sep 30, 2019 9:05 pm

From what I saw, it's seem like it's better to use MSTP on Cisco and use only the CIST region that is backward compatible with RSTP.

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests