Split Switch

Help us decide what to build next.
jsimmons@logic.bm
Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 11:43 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Split Switch

Tue Jun 18, 2019 12:37 am

Enable a single Netonix switch to act like two or more separate switches. Separating VLAN's, broadcast and Spanning Tree domains. Netonix are great for powering backhaul radios, but you end up with a large spanning tree domain.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 7037
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1563 times
Been thanked: 1246 times

Re: Split Switch

Tue Jun 18, 2019 9:09 am

Not sure what your saying but I split my switches all the time.

Examples here: https://forum.netonix.com/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=452#p2961

And watch the video link as well.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

jsimmons@logic.bm
Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 11:43 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Split Switch

Tue Jun 18, 2019 11:22 pm

I'm saying that all switches connected to your Netonix switch either directly or through a backhaul link (a bridge) will interact via spanning tree. As the spanning tree gets large it becomes unstable. A way to avoid this is to put each backhaul radio on a separate switch and connect the lot with a router. Or we can have Netonix create separate spanning tree instances on separate virtual switches (and a router).

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 232 times

Re: Split Switch

Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:26 pm

You need to use MSTP that support several region but it's still beta. If you mean PVST+, it's Cisco propritary.

ERPS, also in beta, is an other available option with fast convergence but it's 3 switchs minimum in a ring and more dangerous (less plug and play).

jsimmons@logic.bm
Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 11:43 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Split Switch

Tue Jun 25, 2019 8:23 pm

When do we expect MSTP that support several regions?

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 232 times

Re: Split Switch

Wed Jun 26, 2019 1:25 pm

The feature is available. You can test and reporting bugs but don't use it in production until your confident in your setup.

Return to What should we build next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests