WS-12-DC with more 24VH and 48VH pors

Help us decide what to build next.
User avatar
wtm
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:17 am
Location: Arizona
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 14 times

WS-12-DC with more 24VH and 48VH pors

Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:55 pm

As we are starting to see bigger radios out there, (and routers), we seem to need more 24VH and 48VH ports on the switches! 4 ports just does not seem to be enough?

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6181
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1457 times
Been thanked: 1110 times

Re: WS-12-DC with more 24VH and 48VH pors

Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:07 am

Well I see the need for more 48VH ports but less 24VH since all AFX radios now support 24V, 48V, 24VH and 48VH.

Not sure how many radios will use 24VH without damage.

If you use 24VH with any airMAX radio you will damage it and the port.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
wtm
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:17 am
Location: Arizona
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: WS-12-DC with more 24VH and 48VH pors

Fri Apr 08, 2016 3:55 pm

We are now using the newer Mikrotik CCR routers, and they are pushing the 24V up towards 20 watts on the switch ports, not sure if we can push them that far?

If we can't use the 24VH on many of those devices, then need higher amps available on just the 24V ports. Say up to 1 amp, instead of the current .5 amp ?

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6181
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1457 times
Been thanked: 1110 times

Re: WS-12-DC with more 24VH and 48VH pors

Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:29 pm

wtm wrote:We are now using the newer Mikrotik CCR routers, and they are pushing the 24V up towards 20 watts on the switch ports, not sure if we can push them that far?

If we can't use the 24VH on many of those devices, then need higher amps available on just the 24V ports. Say up to 1 amp, instead of the current .5 amp ?


All switches being sold as almost a year are 24V and 48V are @ .75A at 55C environment so you would get 1A in a cooler environment, remember Polyfuses trip or open based on temperature.
You should review our PDF for what ports offer what on each model http://www.netonix.com/media/wysiwyg/ws-specsheet.pdf

our 24VH and 48VH are 1.5A @ 55C so closer to 2A in cooler environment
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 263 times
Been thanked: 312 times

Re: WS-12-DC with more 24VH and 48VH pors

Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:39 pm

It is not just about polyfuses. Granted, VH ports achieve their higher current capacity by spreading the current over more pairs so more poly fuses. If the kit you connect does not use all pairs then you don't gain any extra current carrying capacity.

Gig ports will always come up against a current limit because the ethernet transformers need to be able to take the current, unlike 10/100 that use "spare pairs" that need no ethernet transformer.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6181
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1457 times
Been thanked: 1110 times

Re: WS-12-DC with more 24VH and 48VH pors

Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:54 pm

lligetfa wrote:It is not just about polyfuses. Granted, VH ports achieve their higher current capacity by spreading the current over more pairs so more poly fuses. If the kit you connect does not use all pairs then you don't gain any extra current carrying capacity.

Gig ports will always come up against a current limit because the ethernet transformers need to be able to take the current, unlike 10/100 that use "spare pairs" that need no ethernet transformer.


Les is correct VH ports achieve 1.5A using all 4 pair whereas normal V poe ports use a only 2 pair.

Good catch Les
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

wifi442
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 11:16 am
Location: Southern CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: WS-12-DC with more 24VH and 48VH pors

Mon Feb 27, 2017 11:50 am

wtm wrote:We are now using the newer Mikrotik CCR routers, and they are pushing the 24V up towards 20 watts on the switch ports, not sure if we can push them that far?

If we can't use the 24VH on many of those devices, then need higher amps available on just the 24V ports. Say up to 1 amp, instead of the current .5 amp ?


Keep in mind most of the newer Mikrotik Routers and switches will run at 48v input. Even .75a @ 48v yields 36 watts. Which is plenty for most of the CCR lineup :thumbsup:

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6181
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1457 times
Been thanked: 1110 times

Re: WS-12-DC with more 24VH and 48VH pors

Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:08 pm

You should ALWAYS use 48V to power a device if it accepts 48V as it is more efficient.

Yes the 48V will push 1A at reasonable temperatures but not at 55C environment.

Going beyond 1A on 24V or 48V is not really possible as there are no Ethernet Transformers on the market that push more than 1A per pair.
24V and 48V only use 2 pair to deliver the power (1 pair for positive and 1 pair for negative )

If you try to push more than 1A per pair you will fry the Transformer.

This is why our 24VH and 48VH offer double the amperage as it is using all 4 pair to deliver the power (2 pair for positive and 2 pair for negative )
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 263 times
Been thanked: 312 times

Re: WS-12-DC with more 24VH and 48VH pors

Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:57 pm

One way to get 1A at 24V without stressing the ethernet transformer on the WS, is to use 48V 2-pair PoE and down-convert it to 24V at the far end with the https://routerboard.com/RBGPOE-CON-HP

Another way you might be able to move more amps over 4-pair PoE is if the end device can take power through a barrel connector or terminal block, is to use a 4-pair PoE injector/picker http://tyconsystems.com/index.php/passi ... j-1000-din from Tycon.

Return to What should we build next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests