NAT Traversal

User avatar
wisphopefull
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 2:50 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

NAT Traversal

Tue Oct 07, 2014 11:26 pm

I'm wondering how the CAP-FXS will handle NAT traversal for SIP/RTP, will it be similar to a Cisco SPA112 ATA?
Whenever deploying an SPA112 (or the old PAP2T) it just works like plug and play, even behind double NAT without needing to configure STUN or anything.
It will also stay working if I changeover to a backup ISP (different address) and it registers to the VoIP provider with the new public address.


Will CAP-FXS work similar?

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6563
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1497 times
Been thanked: 1163 times

Re: NAT Traversal

Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:33 am

i WILL HAVE TO TEST THOSE BUT IT SHOULD
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
mhoppes
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 9:14 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: NAT Traversal

Wed Oct 08, 2014 12:39 pm

When I get one or two I'll be sure to report back.... *hint* *hint*

User avatar
rebelwireless
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 1:46 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: NAT Traversal

Wed Oct 08, 2014 3:32 pm

A single SPA112 will work with NAT without anything fancy, but plug a second one in and now SIP ports can't NAT because they are already NAT'd. You need to use a different SIP port for the second SPA112.

Also, the SPA112 tries to UPNP map by default BUT it doesn't try an alternate SIP port so you still have the issue that only 1 works at a time.

They do work great if you set each SPA112 to use different RTP ports and a different SIP port though. NAT maps the RTP without issue because the SIP channel advertises available RTP ports and there is no overlap by config.

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest