Indoor SOHO AP ?

User avatar
JustJoe
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Indoor SOHO AP ?

Tue Aug 05, 2014 6:05 pm

:shock: OK, I caught this being mentioned in one of the other threads here. Did I miss the specs or plans on it?

My wish list:

1) Independent WLAN0, LAN0, and LAN1 interfaces.
2) Bridge mode or Router mode with PPPoE option supporting MTU=1500 .
3) At least 2x2 mimo.
4) Native GUI (instead of trying to manage a stupid cloud based GUI behind the primary rooftop CPE.
5) Optional Traffic Shaping on each interface.
6) SNMP read access.
7) unobtrusive wall or ceiling mount.
8) POE "client" option to power it
9) Minimum 23dBm output.
10) DHCP reservations
11) Low brightness LEDs (it is for indoor after all)
12) Silent switching power regulator.

Higher priced "HP" model
1) POE "server" to power other boxes
2) ???

Just figured I would get the ball rolling. :)

User avatar
Ant
Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:22 am
Location: Clanton, AL
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Indoor SOHO AP ?

Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:59 pm

This might be a hard sell especially with limited R&D funds. UBNT's airgateway pretty much covers all the items in your list except 2x2 mimo and the lan0 interface (male poe port) actually being a usable ethernet port. One of UBNT's 75% thought out items.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6923
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1546 times
Been thanked: 1219 times

Re: Indoor SOHO AP ?

Tue Aug 05, 2014 11:33 pm

We have 2 indoor SOHO AP's coming out in about a month.

Atheros 2x2 MIMO 2.4 GHz only
HP - High Power
Integrated power supply built into chassis, no more Ethernet and power cables for homeowner to screw up.
Software enabled POE WAN port to drive radio on roof.
WAN port has blue line around it and included with each AP is a Blue Ethernet connector boot to make it simple for homeowner to know where to plug the wire from the radio on the roof.
4 port 10/100 switch
Based on Open WRT
Optional FXS port for those WISP that want to provide VOIP

HP MIMO 2x2 AP with POE WAN port MSRP $69.95
HP MIMO 2x2 AP with POE WAN port and FXS port MSRP $79.95
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
Ant
Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:22 am
Location: Clanton, AL
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Indoor SOHO AP ?

Tue Aug 05, 2014 11:42 pm

I stand happily corrected! :D

User avatar
JustJoe
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: Indoor SOHO AP ?

Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:23 pm

1) What will be the WAN POE output power voltage?

2) Is it GigE POE compatible? (For this price it would be as real bargain.)

3) POE power for the roof radio is an excellent feature! (I'm calling this a POE "server" feature)

But there are times we need the exact opposite because we want to place the SOHO AP in an area to provide the best coverage for a large house, but there is no nearby AC power, so POE ("client") power is very useful too.

What would happen in your design if the AC power cord is left unplugged, and instead the WAN port is fed, let's say 24VDC POE, from a separate power pack? Would if successfully run the SOHO AP, or do blocking diodes prevent that?

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6923
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1546 times
Been thanked: 1219 times

Re: Indoor SOHO AP ?

Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:38 pm

The POE WAN port is only 24Vdc.
We may consider offering a 48Vdc version down the road.

The device has the power supply built in so it can not be powered via POE, it must be plugged into an AC outlet.
The idea was eliminate the cable mess and offer an optional FXS port.

No, all ports are 10/100 Mbps.
Do not know too many WISP's offering 100 Mbps services so we did not feel it necessary at this time, maybe later versions in a couple years it will be needed.

WISP that offer VOIP currently have a real cable mess that the end user can really mess up and require a truck roll, this is meant to make the customer install simple with no cable mess.

One box does it all.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
keefe007
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 3:56 pm
Location: Germantown, WI
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Indoor SOHO AP ?

Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:12 pm

Can you add VLAN tagging on the WAN and LAN ports?

Also, can you set it up so that the FXS operates on the WAN side of things and/or have the ability to have the FXS on a different vlan. When we sell VOIP to customers currently we put the ATA on a separate VLAN outside of the person's home network and outside of their internet vlan.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6923
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1546 times
Been thanked: 1219 times

Re: Indoor SOHO AP ?

Wed Aug 06, 2014 8:51 pm

Well the software is not nearly done for this.
As we get closer we will release more about the software features but by all means post requests like this here.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
JustJoe
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: Indoor SOHO AP ?

Fri Aug 08, 2014 2:14 am

I think what you currently have planned will be very successful and fill the need you explained very well. And once the basic board and firmware are playing nicely, then later repackaging them for different purposes will always be possible.

I just really like that you are open to listening thoughtfully to suggestions from your customers. :)

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6923
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1546 times
Been thanked: 1219 times

Re: Indoor SOHO AP ?

Mon Aug 11, 2014 7:45 pm

IMG_20140811_182104.jpg
WAP
IMG_20140811_182104.jpg (100 KiB) Viewed 15001 times
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

Next
Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest