BPDU HELP

maturrin
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

BPDU HELP

Tue May 12, 2020 6:40 am

In RSTP, BPDUs will only be sent from the root bridge> down, therefore non-root bridges will only forward the BPDUs that are received from the root bridge through their root port.
I can't get my Netonix ws-12-250-dc to pass a BPDU between two of its interfaces. MIKROTIK --- ETH1 --- ETH1 ---- NETONIX ---- ETH2 ----- ETH2 ----- MIKROTIK. Can you help me ?

User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: BPDU HELP

Tue May 12, 2020 4:33 pm

Do you mind posting your STP and port tab?

maturrin
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: BPDU HELP

Thu May 14, 2020 1:36 pm

Hi Stephen. Thank you for meeting my request for help. Excuse my basic English. I'm using google translator.

I have managed to make the BPDUs pass between two ports in Netonix by activating the RSPT protocol. Now I have another question:
Is it possible to make BPDUs go through a VLAN on Netonix?

maturrin
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: BPDU HELP

Thu May 14, 2020 1:50 pm

Mikrotik-M1--- E1 ------- E1--Netonix --- E2 ---------- E1 ----- Mikrotik M2
Root Bridge No Root Bridge
BPDU exchange between the two Mikrotik is ok
New question
Mikrotik-M1--- E1 ----Vlan Id:20 ------- E1--Netonix --- E2 ------ Vlan Id:20
---- E1 ----- Mikrotik M2
Root Bridge Root Bridge
The exchange of BPDU between the two Mikrotik is not possible and therefore both Mikrotik are declared as Root Bridge

maturrin
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: BPDU HELP

Thu May 14, 2020 1:55 pm

We in Argentina use the Netonix WS-12-250-DC.
We use the SFP port to connect to another SFP in a Mikrotik and through several Vlan connect several Ubiquiti Radios connected to Netonix Ethernet interfaces.
I need to send BPDUs for those Vlan. Can you help me please ?
Thanks for your kind attention

User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: BPDU HELP

Thu May 14, 2020 2:09 pm

Sure, I will try.

On the STP tab, You have three options for protocols.

STP, RSTP, and MSTP,

STP and RSTP in essence are the same of course except that RSTP converges on the network faster. However, STP and RSTP are both unaware of VLANs.

MSTP allows you to use STP on separate VLANs.

If you choose to use MSTP keep in mind that you will need to configure it on your other devices as well if they use more than one VLAN. It can cause problems if a device using MSTP with various VLANs is talking to other devices using RSTP within several VLANs.

As mike99 talks about here: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=5798&p=30900&hilit=MSTP#p30900

maturrin
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: BPDU HELP

Fri May 15, 2020 8:55 am

Hi Stephen.

Do you have any firmware that allows me to pass BPDU in Vlan without activating STP, RSTP or MSTP. ?

I just need the ethernet frame to pass through the corresponding vlan without a filter.

Do you understand my order? Thank you in advance for your help.

Regards.

Miguel Angel Turrin

User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: BPDU HELP

Fri May 15, 2020 3:54 pm

Even if that worked for your current configuration.
I'm afraid if I did that it would reek havoc on many other people's networks.

For reference:
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=5687&p=30769&hilit=STP#p30769

maturrin
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: BPDU HELP

Mon May 18, 2020 3:13 pm

Hi Stephen.
Following your recommendation I have used MSPT to be able to make the traffic of different vlan go out through different Eth ports.
In the E1 port of the Netonix-01 it connects to the E1 port of the Mikrotik-01.
In the E2 port of the Netonix-01 it connects to the E2 port of the Netonix-02.
At port E3 of Netonix-01 it connects to port E3 of Netonix-02.
In the E1 port of the Netonix-02 it is connected to the E1 port of the Mikrotik-02.
At E1 of the Mikrotik-01 he has a Vlan 3401 - 192.168.3.1/24.
In the E1 of the Mikrotik-01 it has a Vlan 3402 - 192.168.4.1/24.
At E1 of the Mikrotik-02 he has a Vlan 3401 - 192.168.3.2/24.
In E1 of Mikrotik-02 it has a Vlan 3402 - 192.168.4.2/24.
Under normal conditions, traffic from 192.168.3.1 to 192.168.3.2 uses Vlan3401 and crosses Netonix-01 and Netonix-02 through E2.
Under normal conditions, traffic from 192.168.4.1 to 192.168.4.2 uses Vlan3402 and crosses Netonix-01 and Netonix-02 through E3.
The problem occurs when we remove the cable at E2 from the Netonix-01 and after a few seconds we connect it.
Traffic from Vlan3402 stops flowing.
The problem occurs when we remove the cable at E3 of the Netonix-01 and after a few seconds we connect it.
Traffic from Vlan3401 stops flowing.
I send information of the logs of each Netonix.
Sorry for the English, I am using the google translator.
regards

Miguel Angel Turrin

maturrin
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: BPDU HELP

Mon May 18, 2020 3:18 pm

Hi Stephen.
Following your recommendation I have used MSPT to be able to make the traffic of different vlan go out through different Eth ports.
In the E1 port of the Netonix-01 it connects to the E1 port of the Mikrotik-01.
In the E2 port of the Netonix-01 it connects to the E2 port of the Netonix-02.
At port E3 of Netonix-01 it connects to port E3 of Netonix-02.
In the E1 port of the Netonix-02 it is connected to the E1 port of the Mikrotik-02.
At E1 of the Mikrotik-01 he has a Vlan 3401 - 192.168.3.1/24.
In the E1 of the Mikrotik-01 it has a Vlan 3402 - 192.168.4.1/24.
At E1 of the Mikrotik-02 he has a Vlan 3401 - 192.168.3.2/24.
In E1 of Mikrotik-02 it has a Vlan 3402 - 192.168.4.2/24.
Under normal conditions, traffic from 192.168.3.1 to 192.168.3.2 uses Vlan3401 and crosses Netonix-01 and Netonix-02 through E2.
Under normal conditions, traffic from 192.168.4.1 to 192.168.4.2 uses Vlan3402 and crosses Netonix-01 and Netonix-02 through E3.
The problem occurs when we remove the cable at E2 from the Netonix-01 and after a few seconds we connect it.
Traffic from Vlan3402 stops flowing.
The problem occurs when we remove the cable at E3 of the Netonix-01 and after a few seconds we connect it.
Traffic from Vlan3401 stops flowing.
I send information of the logs of each Netonix.
Sorry for the English, I am using the google translator.
regards

Miguel Angel Turrin
Attachments
Netonix-02 -08.pdf
(68.83 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
Netonix-02 -07.pdf
(69.61 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Netonix-02 -06.pdf
(69.08 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
Netonix-02 -05.pdf
(103.2 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
Netonix-02 -04.pdf
(93.76 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Netonix-02 -03.pdf
(77.79 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
Netonix-02 -02.pdf
(188.9 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
Netonix-02 -01.pdf
(76.88 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
Netonix-01 -07.pdf
(67.93 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
Netonix-01 -06.pdf
(68.71 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
Netonix-01 -05.pdf
(102.98 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
Netonix-01 -04.pdf
(93.76 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
Netonix-01 -03.pdf
(77.43 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
Netonix-01 -02.pdf
(188.91 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
Netonix-01 -01.pdf
(77.32 KiB) Downloaded 26 times

Next
Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests