POE OPTIONS BY MODEL

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 297 times

Re: POE OPTIONS BY MODEL

Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:00 pm

sirhc wrote:The NTP service work or else a lot more people would be complaining...

Besides me? I still get the odd time it doesn't work. SOP for me is to change it in the settings to another NTP server and then change it back.

That reminds me... had a power bump and so need to give it some TLC.

Selection_001.jpg
Selection_001.jpg (60.97 KiB) Viewed 5134 times

User avatar
Eric Stern
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:41 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 119 times

Re: POE OPTIONS BY MODEL

Wed Jul 08, 2015 4:17 pm

You can try this command at the command line to see if it can query the NTP server.

ntpclient -d -c 1 -h <ntp server>

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 297 times

Re: POE OPTIONS BY MODEL

Wed Jul 08, 2015 6:22 pm

Eric,
I think in my case the switch comes back from a power fail faster than the DSL modem/router and the NTPclient fails, gives up, and never tries again until I change the setting.

User avatar
Eric Stern
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:41 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 119 times

Re: POE OPTIONS BY MODEL

Fri Jul 10, 2015 10:33 am

lligetfa wrote:Eric,
I think in my case the switch comes back from a power fail faster than the DSL modem/router and the NTPclient fails, gives up, and never tries again until I change the setting.


The switch has code to explicitly handle this situation. If NTP is enabled but the date is not set it will continuously try to set the time. To test it I boot the switch without any connections and let it run for a while. When I plug in an ethernet cable it sets the time within 10 seconds. I don't know why this doesn't work for you.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 5753
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1396 times
Been thanked: 1016 times

Re: POE OPTIONS BY MODEL

Fri Jul 10, 2015 11:15 am

Les,

THe next time this happens can you let Eric have access to your computer via Teamviewer so he can then look at your switch?
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
Omniflux
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Nephi, UT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: POE OPTIONS BY MODEL

Wed Sep 09, 2015 7:18 pm

Can I get a clarification on the available amps per port? I ask because this thread is from March and perhaps one of these other undated sources is more current.

Amps.png
Amps.png (8.81 KiB) Viewed 5059 times


Thanks

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 5753
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1396 times
Been thanked: 1016 times

Re: POE OPTIONS BY MODEL

Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:15 pm

Omniflux wrote:Can I get a clarification on the available amps per port? I ask because this thread is from March and perhaps one of these other undated sources is more current.


We have a web site/store with informative links like this one seen below!
Image
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
Omniflux
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Nephi, UT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: POE OPTIONS BY MODEL

Thu Sep 10, 2015 12:28 am

Yes, and I'm asking because the numbers are inconsistent between the web site/store, PDF, and this thread.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 5753
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1396 times
Been thanked: 1016 times

Re: POE OPTIONS BY MODEL

Thu Sep 10, 2015 1:46 am

There have been 4 Revs of the boards made on some models.

This thread is from March and is not accurate for switches being made today which we increased the watts capacity on newer revs.

The PDF is accurate to models being produced today.

The new firmware versions now tell you what the watts capacity is on each port on the ports Tab, we added this feature to help users know what the model they have is capable of.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

Previous
Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests