QinQ Traffic - Losing Management

jpenner
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:55 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

QinQ Traffic - Losing Management

Mon Mar 18, 2019 12:09 pm

I am using a netonix to power an AF-5X HD radio that has a VLAN for management on it.

The customer on the far end of this radio link is needing to be able to pass QinQ traffic

So far the only way they are able to pass through multiple vlans, is to use the "D" (Double Tagging) VLAN function on the port going to the radio.
However, we are losing our management access to the radios when we do that.

Any thoughts on anything else we can do?

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1559 times
Been thanked: 1238 times

Re: QinQ Traffic - Losing Management

Mon Mar 18, 2019 1:06 pm

Your going to need to draw a diagram showing the switch, whats feeding the switch, the AF radio, the radio on the other end and what VLANs you want where.

Be as detailed as you can in your drawing.

Please do not use a piece of paper and pen and take a picture use something like MS Paint and be somewhat neat
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 670
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 232 times

Re: QinQ Traffic - Losing Management

Mon Mar 18, 2019 8:18 pm

Netonix don't allow to choose whitch vlan to encapsulate, it's a 1:any configuration only.

If you have 2 free ports on the switch, I would try the following, connect those together, one with T on and management VID and the other with D on Q-in-Q VID.

jpenner
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:55 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: QinQ Traffic - Losing Management

Mon May 13, 2019 5:35 pm

Sorry for the major delay.
Here's a rough outline as to how it is looking so far.

Their traffic can pass when set to "D" on their port, but we lose access to our managment Vlans for our radios.

The 2nd AF5X-HD goes to another site. The VLAN is tagged from devices after that until it hits the customers other end of their Layer 2 connection.
Attachments
Netonix Issue.png

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests