Page 1 of 1

Enable / Disable Port in CLI

Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:38 pm
by sakita
I'm trying to enable a port from the serial console CLI. :headb:

It made sense to me that there should be something under...

configure
interface port 5

...but invoking the ? help at that point doesn't reveal any command that looks like it would enable / disable a port.

Worst case is there a way using touch or something under the Linux command shell?

I've tried searching the forum with no luck so I've had to resort to asking. :???:

Re: Enable / Disable Port in CLI

Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 10:10 pm
by mike99
You could remove all vlan from a port. That would disable the port. Maybe not the best option but can't figure something else for now.

Re: Enable / Disable Port in CLI

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:18 am
by jakematic
Disable
Code: Select all
ws12# configure
ws12(config)# interface port 5
ws12(port 5)# shutdown
ws12(port 5)# exit
ws12(config)# exit
% Applying configuration...
Press ENTER to confirm configuration change. If you do not hit enter within 60 seconds the switch will revert to the previous configuration.
 
 

shutdown.JPG
port disabled in CLI




Enable
Code: Select all
ws12# configure
ws12(config)# interface port 5
ws12(port 5)# no shutdown
ws12(port 5)# exit
ws12(config)# exit
% Applying configuration...
Press ENTER to confirm configuration change. If you do not hit enter within 60 seconds the switch will revert to the previous configuration.
 

Re: Enable / Disable Port in CLI

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:41 am
by sirhc
You can do anything in the CLI as in the UI

There is help all through the CLI, you just have to use the "help" or "?"

Re: Enable / Disable Port in CLI

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:09 am
by sakita
Thanks to jakematic now I get it Image

I did use the online help and IIRC, I did actually try 'shutdown' and 'no shutdown' but didn't realize that it wouldn't take immediate effect so it didn't seem to do anything.

It's been one of those weeks already... :willy:

Re: Enable / Disable Port in CLI

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:29 pm
by mike99
jakematic wrote:Disable
Code: Select all
ws12# configure
ws12(config)# interface port 5
ws12(port 5)# shutdown
ws12(port 5)# exit
ws12(config)# exit
% Applying configuration...
Press ENTER to confirm configuration change. If you do not hit enter within 60 seconds the switch will revert to the previous configuration.
 
 

shutdown.JPG




Enable
Code: Select all
ws12# configure
ws12(config)# interface port 5
ws12(port 5)# no shutdown
ws12(port 5)# exit
ws12(config)# exit
% Applying configuration...
Press ENTER to confirm configuration change. If you do not hit enter within 60 seconds the switch will revert to the previous configuration.
 


Cisco like. I should have connected to a CLI but didn't check this out before answering :mrgreen: .