VLAN's

bhesterberg

VLAN's

Thu Mar 09, 2017 3:36 pm

So I'm pretty new to Netonix and VLAN's.
What I'm wanting to do is use the netonix to power my site devices, but split them into two networks with VLAN's. I'm not sure how to do this, or if it's possible. My goal is to have both my LAN and WAN devices powered by the switch(4 devices, 2 on LAN and 2 on WAN), then have two separate cables going to my router, one for LAN and one for WAN. I'd like to have ports 1-4 be on one vlan and ports 5-8 on another and not talk between each other. The way you would on a MikroTik router by setting master switch ports.
Is this possible?

Julian

Re: VLAN's

Thu Mar 09, 2017 3:41 pm

that's pretty much the point behind VLANs. It's very possible, and our implementation/UI is fairly intuitive once you play with it.

I'm no network engineer, but it probably took me about 20 minutes to get the hang of how to accomplish what I needed.

try searching for vlan author='sirhc' up in the search box, should get you on the road to where you want to go.

sirhc
Employee
Employee

Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:53 pm

VLAN is an IEEE Standard called 802.1Q, we follow the standard.

We also do QinQ which is also an IEEE Standard called 802.1ad

You can Google them an read all about VLANs and how to set them up, here are 2 links to get you started.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_LAN
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802.1ad
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

bhesterberg

Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:17 am

Reading about what exactly a VLAN is and how it originated doesn't help me set up VLAN's on this switch. I also watched the video, still no help.
I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I can't seem to post a picture here to show you.