Page 11 of 39

Re: Netonix Manager / Control Software

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2016 1:56 pm
by cbl
Any chance for http(s) proxy setup for the remote http(s) calls the manager makes to the outside world?
We like to have our management networks segregated from the outside world and any http/https calls get proxied through and logged.

Re: Netonix Manager / Control Software

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:05 pm
by sirhc
cbl wrote:Any chance for http(s) proxy setup for the remote http(s) calls the manager makes to the outside world?
We like to have our management networks segregated from the outside world and any http/https calls get proxied through and logged.


Thats a good request, I will ask Eric to comment.

A reason I think this is good as I too have my Manager on an invalid IP for security reasons that has no INET access, was going to piss around NAT 'ing that IP address.

Re: Netonix Manager / Control Software

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 9:54 am
by jakematic
billbuchan wrote:Hi - has there been a release of netonix manager since July ? My netonix manager is still halting the browser, occasionally crashing, etc.

---* Bill



Wondering the same.
Haven't been able to keep the Manager running on Ubuntu 14.04 so tried Winders 10 with the same results - regular crashing, freezing, tries to email a crash log to Netonix and dies.

Have abandoned it for now but really like what it can do.

Re: Netonix Manager / Control Software

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 11:29 am
by mike99
Any way to add switch to the manager without passing through the WebUI ? I would like them to be add automaticly to the manager when I add switch to my inventory.

A API or via CLI would be fine.

Re: Netonix Manager / Control Software

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 11:52 am
by sirhc
mike99 wrote:Any way to add switch to the manager without passing through the WebUI ? I would like them to be add automaticly to the manager when I add switch to my inventory.

A API or via CLI would be fine.


So you want a feature in the switch UI/CLI

In web UI say and Option called "Manager" under the Utilities Button Drop Down where you could put in the Address:port, User, Password of the manager and it sets it up in the Manager

Is this correct?

Re: Netonix Manager / Control Software

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 12:15 pm
by Eric Stern
mike99 wrote:Any way to add switch to the manager without passing through the WebUI ? I would like them to be add automaticly to the manager when I add switch to my inventory.

A API or via CLI would be fine.


There is a REST API.

POST to /api/devices with the following JSON body:
Code: Select all
{
 "device": {
 "address": "192.168.2.107",
 "ssh_port": "22",
 "web_port": "",
 "username": "admin",
 "password": "admin",
 "monitor": true
 }
}

Re: Netonix Manager / Control Software

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 12:26 pm
by mike99
Nice Eric,

Thanks.

Would we be able to check firmware version and upgrade through an API of the manager or we should pass directly through the CLI of the switch ?

Re: Netonix Manager / Control Software

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 8:27 am
by jjonsson
mike99 wrote:Any way to add switch to the manager without passing through the WebUI ?


Could be nice, when you setup a new switch, that you could enter IP-address/DNS name of Netonix Manager server and then the switch automatically adds itself to the manager....

Or like UniFi. The switch was looking for DNS name "Netonixmanager" or something like that....

Re: Netonix Manager / Control Software

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:22 am
by mike99
jjonsson wrote:Or like UniFi. The switch was looking for DNS name "Netonixmanager" or something like that....


TR-069 is the standard for that kind of management. The opensource EasyCWMP project for CPE seem a option. Since all the market seem to slowly move from SNMP to TR-069, maybe that could be a nice option. That would let us even manage switch inside of customers network (behind routers).

Re: Netonix Manager / Control Software

Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:37 am
by Eric Stern
mike99 wrote:Nice Eric,

Thanks.

Would we be able to check firmware version and upgrade through an API of the manager or we should pass directly through the CLI of the switch ?


You can do a GET on /api/devices and it will return information about all the devices in the manager, including the firmware version.

To trigger a upgrade you can POST to /api/upgradefirmware with this:
{ "devices":[10],"firmwareFile":"wispswitch-1.4.5rc8.bin","scheduled":false,"date":""}


This assumes wispswitch-1.4.5rc8.bin is already present in the manager. Also, for "devices" it says "[10]". Its an array so you can upgrade more than 1 device at once. The 10 is the device ID, you'll need to do a GET /api/devices to get the device ID for the device you want to upgrade.