Terminal vlan config

DolphinComms
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Terminal vlan config

Wed Nov 15, 2023 4:57 pm

Hello,
I have managed to lose access to switch by not marking ether1 to handle tagged vlans (1,100). typically i would reset and start again but it has been setup with no recent backups.
how do i modify the vlans via the terminal (usb to serial). oddly it is passing the vlans to other switches on the network?

Thank you,

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 7356
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1597 times
Been thanked: 1319 times

Re: Terminal vlan config

Wed Nov 15, 2023 8:27 pm

Well connect to the switch via serial cable.

The CLI has online help to guild you through sorta like cisco CLI does.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

DolphinComms
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Terminal vlan config

Thu Nov 16, 2023 7:47 am

Please post a link to the documentation, I can't find it anywhere

DolphinComms
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Terminal vlan config

Thu Nov 16, 2023 10:09 am

sw02# show vlan
ID Enable Description 1 2 3 4 5 6
---- ------ ----------- -- -- -- -- -- --
100 true Management T T T T T T
1 true default T U U U U U

i need to change the vlan assignment on a port

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 7356
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1597 times
Been thanked: 1319 times

Re: Terminal vlan config

Thu Nov 16, 2023 12:13 pm

DolphinComms wrote:sw02# show vlan
ID Enable Description 1 2 3 4 5 6
---- ------ ----------- -- -- -- -- -- --
100 true Management T T T T T T
1 true default T U U U U U

i need to change the vlan assignment on a port


All the help you needed is provided under the CLI with ?

Your in the CLI
Get to config mode with "config" [Enter]
Get to VLAN 100 with "VLAN 100" [Enter]
Set port tagging on current VLAN (100) with "Port 1 U" [Enter]
Save / Apply changes "Ctrl + z"

Remember the Management VLAN is ALWAYS the TOP VLAN no matter what number you assign to it.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

DolphinComms
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Terminal vlan config

Thu Nov 16, 2023 12:50 pm

Someone helped me and here is what I did

configure
vlan [ID]
port [NUMBER] U/Q/T/E

U - Untagged
Q - QinQ
T - Tagged
E - Exclude

To fix my issue

configure
vlan 1
port 5 U
end

DolphinComms
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Terminal vlan config

Sat Nov 18, 2023 11:16 am

i love these switches

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests