IGMP snooping troubles

User avatar
mgthump
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:31 pm
Location: Pacific, MO
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

IGMP snooping troubles

Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:55 am

Its been a while since i've been back to talk about this, but its a feature we need working much sooner than later.

We're going full launch with TV service Monday, I haven't checked back until recently to make sure Snooping was working correctly since its been on the list of things to fix... I had a major OH $H1T moment.


we need igmp snooping to work within a vlan for TV delivery, if we turn on Snooping, it kills the multicast streams.... with it off, the streams flow but of course, they wander all over the network which we don't want. we do not need fast leave support.


anyone else running into this? as it sits for us to actually completely launch, I need to install 38 new switches. at just under $600 each for the juniper flavor I prefer, obviously, I'd rather not. at each tower, we install 2 switches, 1 switch dedicated to backhauling and interacting with the local router. a separate switch for the APs to attach too. the "edge switch can remain in place since the EPMP supports snooping and will handle it there. the backhaul switches have to get this feature or we face a 600 Mbps flood of traffic in the worst case scenario as we distribute video service. obviously, we can't do that.


are any of the rest of you running into this as a major issue?

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: IGMP snooping troubles

Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:35 pm

Hi Chris,

Most IPTV service here are unicast with CDN unless you build your own TV Headend so no, I didn't test IGMP snooping.

Have you done a full description of the problem ? What goes wrong and when it's happen ? It could help Eric.

I've looked fast at your post (by thread and looked some thread that could be related like firmware verison issue post) and didn't find anything about it.

From what I read in this tread, have you try to set an IP address on the VLAN you want IGMP snooping. Have you tryed it ?
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2931&p=21736&hilit=igmp#p21736

User avatar
mgthump
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:31 pm
Location: Pacific, MO
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: IGMP snooping troubles

Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:52 pm

mike99 wrote:Hi Chris,

Most IPTV service here are unicast with CDN unless you build your own TV Headend so no, I didn't test IGMP snooping.

Have you done a full description of the problem ? What goes wrong and when it's happen ? It could help Eric.

I've looked fast at your post (by thread and looked some thread that could be related like firmware verison issue post) and didn't find anything about it.

From what I read in this tread, have you try to set an IP address on the VLAN you want IGMP snooping. Have you tried it ?
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2931&p=21736&hilit=igmp#p21736





what do you mean by setup an IP on the vlan? we have a full TV platform up and running based on multicast.

TV channels STOP when igmp is enabled. TV flow when it is turned off. BUT without snooping they flow to endpoints not requesting the channels. this should not be. DHCP service issues IPs through the vlan and it works as expected without IGMP snooping on. it DOES NOT allow multicast through when it's enabled, it still gets the DHCP messages across.


IGMP snooping works as expected with Netgear, cisco and juniper switches we've tested with, so this issue only affect our netonix switches.

we use vlan number 912 if that matters for any reason. don't see why it would but that's the last detail I haven't included.

User avatar
mgthump
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:31 pm
Location: Pacific, MO
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: IGMP snooping troubles

Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:07 pm

ok found the mention of the IP address. we are not routing the multicast, the switch should not need to be L3 joined with this as thats not part of the standard for this. i also cannot risk an IP conflict by taking 38 IP address from the pool I don't have management control over. this needs to be corrected so work as an l2 feature where is lives. I'll make use of the L3 feature eventually with routing the traffic, but that requires a $40,000 component I'm not adding for launch. the mini box cannot do routing and works on a semi flat topology. from what i'm reading about the multicast implementation on netonix, it seems like you've started to do multicast routing without the routing ability. full multicast routing would be nice... but I'm not in a hurry for that. I need snooping to work to the RFC specs, that means no IP address is needed in the broadcast domain.


Thank you for the information.

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: ICMP snooping troubles

Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:33 pm

Right now, seem like IGMP snooping work only if an IP address is set on the VLAN. Don't know why, you will have to wait for Eric answer.

P.S.: "seem like they started". Netonix associate don't mean I'm part of the staff.

uberdome
Member
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:58 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: IGMP snooping troubles

Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:58 pm

I'm bumping this thread because IGMP snooping is still broken. I'm ready to start putting Netonix in place of my MikroTik hardware in some TV locations... but I can't do it until IGMP snooping is fixed.

@mgthump, have you found a work around?

User avatar
mgthump
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:31 pm
Location: Pacific, MO
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: IGMP snooping troubles

Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:54 pm

we pulled ALL netonix from our core network except for edge delivery switches. never got snooping to work with vlans, its a must have for us, PERIOD.

our not so busy sites we put older juniper ex2200P switches. busy spots ex2500 if its all optical or 4300s. runs smooth now.


we still use some of our old netonix switches to power up APs on a few towers that snooping can just be left off because the APs deal with it, otherwise a brand change was our resolution.

gracino
Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: IGMP snooping troubles

Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:54 am

Did you try turning on the IGMP querier on the vlan?

User avatar
mgthump
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:31 pm
Location: Pacific, MO
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: IGMP snooping troubles

Sun Dec 09, 2018 1:03 am

Lol obviously. When snooping is on, it breaks all multicast. I've been told it works for untagged multicast, but thats not acceptable.

uberdome
Member
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:58 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: IGMP snooping troubles

Fri Feb 08, 2019 10:15 pm

@mgthump, IGMP Snooping is working for me now in v1.5.2rc3. If you have Netonix hardware remaining, I'd be interested to know if the recent changes worked for you.

Next
Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests