Will WS-8-150-DC overheat in this box

User avatar
amishgenius
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:39 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Will WS-8-150-DC overheat in this box

Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:49 am

I have this project that requires a DC fiber switch, but I'm am questioning my choice in enclosure. Is this aluminum box big enough to dissipate the heat? It will only be powering 1 Powerbeam and the SFP module. There is a possibility that I might add another radio in the future, but for now that's it. Also it will be fed by 48vdc, if that makes a difference.

IMG_20170414_103959140.jpg

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 5380
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1318 times
Been thanked: 974 times

Re: Will WS-8-150-DC overheat in this box

Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:59 am

I don't know but I would put in a couple vents, at least 1 high and 1 low:
https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=c ... +box+vents

Also make sure you paint white

Could put 2 of these top of door face and 2 bottom door face?
http://www.alliedelec.com/bud-industrie ... DQodeLUPYA
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
amishgenius
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:39 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Will WS-8-150-DC overheat in this box

Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:14 am

hmmm...not bad, I think I will do that. Thanks

User avatar
Julian
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:47 am
Location: Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Will WS-8-150-DC overheat in this box

Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:32 am

1: for best heat/power efficiency, feed with 24v; just the nature of our DC-DC converter. 48v isn't significantly worse, but 24 is optimum.

2: the way you're mounting, the fan isn't going to be doing much. Active airflow may not be strictly necessary, but if you can find a way to get that fan pointed at more open air, do so.

3: only way to know would be testing. Switch is load tested (with a much higher load than you're implementing) for some time at 90C ambient (I believe, dave, chime in if i'm wrong); Knock it together, power it up, and stick it outside for a couple sunny days.. maybe snmp alert on temps over 90 and again over 95, but almost everything on that board is rated to 100C, and what isn't, doesn't produce much heat. Either way, let us know how it goes.
Name: Julian
Title: Tech Monkey Extraordinaire
Email: Julian@Netonix.com
Famous Last Words: "-should- work.. ish"

Last Resort
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 12:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Will WS-8-150-DC overheat in this box

Tue Apr 18, 2017 1:38 pm

My experience suggests seeking another option. Optics can run 20-25C hotter than the host board and tend to get shaky above 65C. So if the enclosure hits 40C and the switch is at 50C, you have a problem. Find a Finsar SPF that will meet your needs and ensure your supplier sends you Finsar. They typically run +4C. If you get past 70C on the switch I'd expect issues with errors. For a single PowerBeam I'd use the following and rate it to 70C, Take the PC board out of it's plastic shell and affix heatsink fins to the SFP cage. Mount assembly to box with standoffs -

https://routerboard.com/RBGPOE-CON-HP

https://routerboard.com/RB260GSP

https://www.arrow.com/en/products/ftlf1318p3btl/finisar

If you need to vent the box, use -

http://tyconsystems.com/documentation/S ... 0Sheet.pdf

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 5380
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1318 times
Been thanked: 974 times

Re: Will WS-8-150-DC overheat in this box

Tue Apr 18, 2017 2:06 pm

I would not take the switchboard out of the chassis.

1 it is not plastic it is metal.
2 our chassis has a fan and airflow is important.
3 we have tested the switch to operate fine in up to 55C environment under full load and the test oven is small with no air flow just HEAT.

Now he does have a point that whatever SFP module you use it could have a thermal problem but once again we are blowing air around with the fan so that helps a lot. I do not think our unit would have any more of an issue with SFP optics than say the UBNT Edgepoint, in fact ours would probably do better as we do have a fan and there is airflow over the SFP module even if it is in a small box.

I do think venting the box is a must since it is this small and my suggestion and the ones above are all good options for box vents.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 5 guests