Cisco Nomenclature or I don't speak U T Q E

Kick back and hang out in the lounge and talk about almost anything.
jamie t
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 11:14 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Cisco Nomenclature or I don't speak U T Q E

Mon Jul 03, 2017 11:39 am

After years of programming Cisco I don’t speak this U T Q E, language, which is interesting, so I would like to see the following added
A radio button that says
(o) Use Standard U / T / Q / E
( ) Use Cisco Na/ Al / Ac / Pr / QiQ
Where
Na = Native VLan
Al = Allowed
Ac = Access VLAN
Pr = Pruned
Q = Q in Q



Maybe I will get use to it, but I have to think of it all over again. Or show the cisco language of the config in the window as it is being selected. Or maybe just display the equivalent Cisco config below on the page
int Gig 1

switchport mode access
switchport access vlan 100
int Gig 2
switchport mode trunk
switchport trunk allowed vlan 40, 100, 200, 300
switchport trunk pruned vlan 400
switchport trunk native vlan 40
int Gig 3
switchport mode access
switchport access vlan 100
switchport mode dot1q-tunnel

User avatar
mike99
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:53 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 190 times

Re: Cisco Nomenclature or I don't speak U T Q E

Mon Jul 03, 2017 2:44 pm

U is use as both access and native VLAN of the port. It define the untagged vlan in both ingress and egress.

T = allowed
Q = Q in Q (S-TPI 88a8)

D = double tag (S-TPI 8100)

I don't think pruned is support.

So, for access vlan, U on access VLAN of the port and all other to E.

For trunk, U for native VLAN of the port and T for all allowed VLAN.

Checking the "trunk" option over the port allow all VLAN. A single VLAN can be change between U and T in trunk mode.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6539
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1496 times
Been thanked: 1160 times

Re: Cisco Nomenclature or I don't speak U T Q E

Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:06 pm

mike99 wrote:Checking the "trunk" option over the port allow all VLAN. A single VLAN can be change between U and T in trunk mode.


Or you can define an allowed VALN ID access list such as "1-200,250,260,1000, 1010-1089"
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

Return to The Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests