help with new tower

Kick back and hang out in the lounge and talk about almost anything.
smartmoney

help with new tower

Sat Nov 21, 2015 9:32 pm

I am needing some advice on a new tower setup
Bit of background
I'm an wisp residential installer for years that has stepped foot into co/ownership last year. I never did much past the residence.
We typically use Mikrotik and recently added ubiquiti into the mix. Just started to figure out the Mikrotik Routed system were using. I have helped setup some of out smaller towers and mini pops as well.
I was given the opportunity to setup my first solo tower which i will have complete control over (design, setup and management). I will be getting a vlan feed one hop from the fiber tower (fiber tower to water tower to me). I will control the radio on the WT. I will also fit the bill for equipment so i didn't want the "trial and error" method so i'm asking kindly for advice :smile:

I am having a hard time deciding on equipment. (omni vs sector - 2.4 vs 3.65 vs 5.8 vs AC)(yes i have 3.65 FCC license) Thinking 3.65 for backhaul because i have a rocket and dish already and interference issues. Tower has 2.4 sectors around and 5.8 on 2 sides plus omni.
Tower to WT is 3.6 miles with clean LOS at tower height and i did account for clean fresnel zone as well.
tower is going to be 65ft and should cover the whole subdivision of about 15 houses at most. I'm getting a feed of 50meg to start.
Tower will connect to NE
I will need at least 270deg coverage (so omni or 3 120 sectors with overlaps)
120v power at tower

Thought of using AC gear but it seems to be hard to get right now. I will need this to go up in the next two weeks. Any advice other than RUN!!!!! will be helpful twards my success.
Thanks