restarting vtss appl

Kick back and hang out in the lounge and talk about almost anything.
Michael Day
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:35 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

restarting vtss appl

Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:11 am

What does this mean?
Dec 11 13:17:33 monitor: restarting vtss_appl

And why did it happen?

User avatar
Eric Stern
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:41 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 128 times

Re: restarting vtss appl

Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:58 am

That is the process that handles many functions of the switch. It crashed and was automatically restarted by the monitoring service. There isn't really a way to tell why. If it happens frequently it may indicate a hardware issue with the switch.

Michael Day
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:35 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: restarting vtss appl

Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:35 pm

Thank you. I do have pre-programmed spares if needed.

skapur
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:38 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: restarting vtss appl

Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:13 pm

We have experienced similar issue with one of our Netonix switches where adding 4 VLANs resulted in a restart of this module and dropped a physical interface as seen in the below logs:

Code: Select all
 


Sep 17 11:31:48 UI: VLANs: added 'VLAN17'
Sep 17 11:31:48 UI: VLANs: added 'VLAN18'
Sep 17 11:31:48 UI: VLANs: added 'VLAN19'
Sep 17 11:31:48 UI: VLANs: added 'VLAN20'
[b]Sep 17 11:31:57 monitor: restarting vtss_appl[/b]
Sep 17 11:31:59 LACP: starting negotiation with partner E4-8D-8C-35-72-82
Sep 17 11:31:59 Port: link state changed to 'up' (1G) on port 13
Sep 17 11:32:00 Port: link state changed to 'up' (1G) on port 13
Sep 17 11:32:00 Port: link state changed to 'down' on port 14
Sep 17 11:32:00 LACP: starting negotiation with partner E4-8D-8C-35-72-82
Sep 17 11:32:00 Port: link state changed to 'up' (1G) on port 14
Sep 17 11:32:02 LACP: LACP changed state to Active on port 13 (key 1)
Sep 17 11:32:04 LACP: LACP changed state to Active on port 14 (key 1)
Sep 17 11:32:04 STP: set port 15 to discarding
Sep 17 11:32:04 STP: set port 13 to discarding
Sep 17 11:32:04 STP: set port 14 to discarding
Sep 17 11:32:06 STP: set port 15 to learning
Sep 17 11:32:06 STP: set port 13 to learning
Sep 17 11:32:06 STP: set port 14 to learning
Sep 17 11:32:06 STP: set port 15 to forwarding
Sep 17 11:32:06 STP: set port 13 to forwarding
Sep 17 11:32:06 STP: set port 14 to forwarding
Sep 17 11:32:13 UI: Error occured during TFTP auto backup: tftp: timeout

 



The switch is running on firmware version 1.4.9

Do you think this is because of hardware fault on this switch?

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6564
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1497 times
Been thanked: 1163 times

Re: restarting vtss appl

Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:22 pm

skapur wrote:
The switch is running on firmware version 1.4.9

Do you think this is because of hardware fault on this switch?


NO.

Upgrade your firmware and see if the problem is still there.

We are on v1.5.1rc4

v1.4.9 is 10 months old.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

airlinkrb
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: restarting vtss appl

Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:54 pm

We are seeing this problem as well. We are on 1.5.0 ... going to upgrade to the latest RC and see what happens.

airlinkrb
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: restarting vtss appl

Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:02 pm

No Luck, sirhC.

Still seeing this in the logs.

Jan 1 00:00:12 netonix: 1.5.1rc5 on WS-12-250-DC

Jan 1 00:00:15 system: Setting MAC address from flash configuration: EC:13:B2:82:CA:C6

Jan 1 00:00:19 admin: adding lan (eth0) to firewall zone lan

Dec 31 18:00:35 admin: removing lan (eth0.99) from firewall zone lan

Dec 31 18:00:39 admin: adding lan (eth0.99) to firewall zone lan

Dec 31 18:00:45 admin: adding lan (eth0.99) to firewall zone lan

Dec 31 18:00:48 system: starting ntpclient

Dec 31 18:00:53 switch[1413]: Detected warm boot

Dec 31 18:00:55 system: starting ntpclient

Sep 18 16:59:54 system: time set by NTP server

Sep 18 17:00:15 monitor: restarting vtss_appl

Sep 18 17:01:22 monitor: restarting vtss_appl

Sep 18 17:01:35 monitor: restarting vtss_appl

airlinkrb
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: restarting vtss appl

Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:34 pm

When the vtss_app1 line shows up in the log, we see a couple of packets lost when pinging customers beyond the switch. We also see a dip in traffic throughput all happen for a bit at the same time.

- Casey

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6564
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1497 times
Been thanked: 1163 times

Re: restarting vtss appl

Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:13 pm

Then there are 2 things possibly occurring:

1) The config is corrupted, a power on factory default then manually set the switch up.
How do do a power on default is explained here: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=409#p2398

2) As Eric said above your switch is damaged and need repaired.

RMA instructions are located here: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1259#p9343

You could also bench test it as explained in detail here: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2780#p19221
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

nroufus
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 3:52 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: restarting vtss appl

Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:44 pm

I recently just started experiencing this error. Every time it occurs, we see a latency spike/packet loss across the switch itself and all connected devices, throughput dropping, as well as port errors incrementing. We've tried two different switches and experiencing the same on both. WS-12-250-AC (original, first occurred here) and WS-12-250-DC (new replacement), both running 1.5.0. Did try a hard reset and configuring by hand (as suggested above). Same symptoms. Any ideas?

(EDIT) I was finally able to get it to stop by disabling the Discovery Tab. Updating to 1.5.1rc7 alone did not fix my issue. After re-enabling it, the logs display the "restarting vtss appl" error every minute, almost on the dot. Disabled again, and haven't had an issue since.

Return to The Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests