AirPrism and rfArmor Sector Kits

RF Armor®™ is not associated with Netonix® in any way.
arik
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2017 2:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

AirPrism and rfArmor Sector Kits

Thu Aug 31, 2017 2:41 pm

We are trying to pair some AM-V5G-TI with Rocket AC Ptmp Only Airprism R5AC-PTMP and have discovered that the rfArmor USKT5X shield kit does not correctly cover the Airprism, the Airprism cannot be mounted to the AM-V5G-TI with the rfArmor shield in place. :headb:

While the diagram for the rfArmor USKTM5X looks to be correct, it is rated for the AM-M-V5G-TI and we definitely have the AM-V5G-TI.

Do you have a solution for this setup? I'm also curious if we can RMA the never-used USKT5Xs we have - unless there is a fix.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6503
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1490 times
Been thanked: 1153 times

Re: AirPrism and rfArmor Sector Kits

Thu Aug 31, 2017 2:47 pm

arik wrote:We are trying to pair some AM-V5G-TI with Rocket AC Ptmp Only Airprism R5AC-PTMP and have discovered that the rfArmor USKT5X shield kit does not correctly cover the Airprism, the Airprism cannot be mounted to the AM-V5G-TI with the rfArmor shield in place. :headb:

While the diagram for the rfArmor USKTM5X looks to be correct, it is rated for the AM-M-V5G-TI and we definitely have the AM-V5G-TI.

Do you have a solution for this setup? I'm also curious if we can RMA the never-used USKT5Xs we have - unless there is a fix.


There is an OLDER model of the shield kit USKT5 or USKT5AC that does NOT work with airPRISIM

There is a NEWER kit USKT5X which will work with the airPRISIM radios.

Having the "X" on the end of the part number is important.

The older kits do work fine with the Rocket AC Lite and in my testing if you do not need GPS sync the AC Lite radios perform just as good as the airPRISM radios with the shield kit.

So if upgrading older sectors I suggest using the Rocket AC Lite unless you need sync for channel reuse.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
wtm
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:17 am
Location: Arizona
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: AirPrism and rfArmor Sector Kits

Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:04 am

We just changed a site over to Gen 2 Air Prism radios. Even the "X" version box is not long enough! Need another 1/2 to 1 inch length in the box, to correctly mount the radio, and get the cabling properly run, without crimping it. :headb:

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6503
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1490 times
Been thanked: 1153 times

Re: AirPrism and rfArmor Sector Kits

Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:01 am

Yes the box works with Gen 2 properly.

The airPRISIM Gen 2 is the same length as original airPRISIM.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6503
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1490 times
Been thanked: 1153 times

Re: AirPrism and rfArmor Sector Kits

Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:32 pm

Here is a video showing they fit
https://youtu.be/laaV2CpIc4Q
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
wtm
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:17 am
Location: Arizona
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: AirPrism and rfArmor Sector Kits

Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:05 pm

Need an "X" version available for the smaller sector kits !

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6503
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1490 times
Been thanked: 1153 times

Re: AirPrism and rfArmor Sector Kits

Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:31 pm

wtm wrote:Need an "X" version available for the smaller sector kits !


Not a lot of info to help you here, which sectors?

We have these:
https://www.rfarmor.com/sector-kits/usk905x.html
https://www.rfarmor.com/sector-kits/usk1205x.html
https://www.rfarmor.com/sector-kits/usktm5x.html
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
wtm
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:17 am
Location: Arizona
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: AirPrism and rfArmor Sector Kits

Sun Feb 18, 2018 12:00 pm

Those would be the AM-5G-120 antennas. Which would have been USK-1205"X" versions. We still have to bend down the bottom plate to install the Prism Gen2's into them. Need about 1 more inch in length to make them fit correctly !

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6503
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1490 times
Been thanked: 1153 times

Re: AirPrism and rfArmor Sector Kits

Sun Feb 18, 2018 12:40 pm

wtm wrote:Those would be the AM-5G-120 antennas. Which would have been USK-1205"X" versions. We still have to bend down the bottom plate to install the Prism Gen2's into them. Need about 1 more inch in length to make them fit correctly !


No, you do not need to bend anything on an "X" version of sector kits to use airPRISIM radios.

The "exact same" box is used on the USK1205X as the USK12025X and they fit the airPRIMIM and airPRISIM Gen 2 radios just fine.

First off if you have an airPRISIM and an airPRISIM Gen 2 side by side the chassis is the same so I am always at a loss to why people keep saying Gen 2 does not fit?

Once again I refer to this video which clearly shows that airPRISIM radios do in fact fit in any sector kit ending in "X"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=laaV2Cp ... e=youtu.be

All "X" sector kits use the exact same radio cover box so I so not understand why you say you have to bend anything?

All these kits use the same radio cover box:
UACSBX <= Works with airPRSIM radios
USK1205X <= Works with airPRSIM radios
USK905X <= Works with airPRSIM radios
USK12025X <= Works with airPRSIM radios
USK9025X <= Works with airPRSIM radios
USKT5X <= Works with airPRSIM radios
USKTM5X <= Works with airPRSIM radios

Once again watch the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=laaV2Cp ... e=youtu.be
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

Return to RF Armor™

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest