WS-8-150-DC - NTP HOST?

Technical discussions about our hardware electronics with our product engineer.
brad828
Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:58 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

WS-8-150-DC - NTP HOST?

Tue Mar 10, 2020 4:33 pm

I am setting up my WS-8-150-DC for the first time. everything is great except I am curious what to use for the "Host" under NTP. Can I simply use a server within our network? Or a router? Just an internal IP Address? Any direction or tutorial for a newbie on setting this up so that I can get the most out of this switch would be much appreciated. Is there a specific format, if I am using an IP that i should use or can it simply be 192.168.1.1, for example? Thank you.

User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 91 times

Re: WS-8-150-DC - NTP HOST?

Tue Mar 10, 2020 4:42 pm

You can use an IP address or a URL as the Host. for example: ntp-b.nist.gov or 132.163.96.5 which is a public server at NIST, Boulder, Colorado. Which I use every now and then. And yes if you have an NTP server setup in your network as long as it's accessible by the switch then you can enter it's address to use as well.

Return to Dave's Lab

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests