Tower Switch VS WISP Switch DC?

User avatar
Omniflux
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Nephi, UT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Tower Switch VS WISP Switch DC?

Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:52 am

Is there a description of how the tower switch is different from the WS-12-250-DC somewhere?

User avatar
adairw
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:47 pm
Location: Amarillo, TX
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Tower Switch VS WISP Switch DC?

Fri Apr 17, 2015 9:20 am

The tower switch isn't available yet. but it's basically a tower mounted switch with DC and fiber running to it with some sort of "controller"/power supply at the bottom of the tower.

User avatar
Omniflux
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Nephi, UT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Tower Switch VS WISP Switch DC?

Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:21 am

The WS-12-250-DC fits this description (with the possible exception of it's own weatherproof enclosure).

Why should I be excited about the Tower Switch? How is it any different than the WISP Switch DC?

User avatar
wtm
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:17 am
Location: Arizona
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Tower Switch VS WISP Switch DC?

Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:26 pm

What would be nice to have is something along the lines of what Ubiquiti brought out! 16 LAN ports, with fiber input, that mounts on a tower. BUT, need it as a Mux unit, so all the LAN ports work individually, on any IP subnet. One base unit (rack mount in building), fiber up the tower, second remote unit (strapped on tower), that allows you to use any port for what is needed (POE output on tower). Have a separate DC wire feeding it !

That way you can feed backhauls, and AP's (from behind the router) via one fiber cable up the tower.

This would eliminate long cable problems, and RF induction on the cabling. Needed DC amperage to the tower unit would be handled by size of DC cable going up the tower. Unit could just use 50+ volts and then regulate down to 48 or 24 volts as needed on the POE output.

:tinhat:

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest