AF5x + WS-6-Mini

Ubiquiti Networks® is not associated with Netonix® in any away.
User avatar
msd-support
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:06 am
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

AF5x + WS-6-Mini

Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:43 am

Morning All!

Got an interesting one which I would like some confirmation (as its slightly unclear)

AF5x which uses 24v 1A (I think is all 4 pairs like AF24 / AF5 as it mentions it in Spec 1,2,4,5( + ) and 7,8,3,6 ( - ) )

Would in theory the AF5x be plugged into Eth2 with 24v 1.5a Set in port option?

In the setup the 6 Mini would be powered via 50v PoE from airFiber power pack into Eth1 (as there is no local power at site) then Eth2 plugged into AF5x which would be up the pole for backhaul,

If someone would confirm that would be great

Kevin
MS (Distribution) UK Ltd - Technical Support

Consultant Engineer's for MikroTik, Ubiquiti, Mimosa, Siklu and many more
http://www.msdist.co.uk/

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 5760
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1396 times
Been thanked: 1016 times

Re: AF5x + WS-6-Mini

Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:38 am

Read this post: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1215#p9040

So with that information from that post you now know that all AFX radios now support 48VH and how to verify your AF5X radio is not one of the original AF5X that did not support 48VH

Then read this post: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1178

Now you know what all the POE options do


Also if you need more power (watts) for the WS-6-MINI that an AF24 POE brick offers you can use this one as well:
https://www.streakwave.com/Itemdesc.asp ... V-80W&o1=0

This one provides 80 watts versus the 60 watts of an AF24 POE brick.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
msd-support
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:06 am
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: AF5x + WS-6-Mini

Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:27 am

Hi Chris,

Thanks for the links - i couldn't find the details earlier (must not have looked hard enough)

I'll relay this back to the customer and also make a note of it for our own records
Thanks for the links - had a quick look and quite a handy reference

Cheer
Kevin
MS (Distribution) UK Ltd - Technical Support

Consultant Engineer's for MikroTik, Ubiquiti, Mimosa, Siklu and many more
http://www.msdist.co.uk/

Digitexwireless
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:20 pm
Location: Cleburne, TX
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: AF5x + WS-6-Mini

Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:22 pm

This issue i have is the POE settings for PORT 2 on the MINI says 24V 1.5 A. It does not say VH but the amp output is VH levels. So is this a misprint in the switch or is it only powering on 2 pair. I would like to power a mikrotik and am worried about plugging into it.

Tommy
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tommy A.
Network Administrator
Digitex.com

Digitexwireless
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:20 pm
Location: Cleburne, TX
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: AF5x + WS-6-Mini

Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:26 pm

Well i tested with an old board and all is good. 24V just like it says.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tommy A.
Network Administrator
Digitex.com

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 243 times
Been thanked: 297 times

Re: AF5x + WS-6-Mini

Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:11 pm

Unless there is a new model out with different specs, port 2 on the MINI only does VH or none.

User avatar
Dave
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: AF5x + WS-6-Mini

Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:43 pm

current production ws-6 Port 2 has 24/48/48VH options....just no 24VH...sigh..we need to update data sheet..

Return to airFIBER™

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest