To those who purchased WS3 rev B or C

DOWNLOAD THE LATEST FIRMWARE HERE
User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 835
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 148 times

To those who purchased WS3 rev B or C

Mon Mar 15, 2021 9:58 pm

The Problem

For anyone who recently purchased the new beta 10G switches (either the WS3-14-600-AC or WS3-14-600-DC) and the board rev is either B or C (you can check under Device->Status)

We determined from reports from users that the OCP (Over Current Protection) feature was not working correctly, and as a result the switches could not power high powered radios, such as the airfiber24, among others.

We have now solved this problem, but the fix is in the hardware of WS3-14 board of rev D or greater and the corresponding software firmware 2.0.6rc2 and greater.

To Get The Improved Hardware

If you have the new WS3-14 with either a rev B or C board. You may go about acquiring these improvements in 1 of 2 ways:

NOTE, BEFORE YOU START:

If you have a config on your WS3 you wish to keep after the fix.
Before you follow any of these methods. First upgrade the WS3 to the latest code.
Then export your config and save it to your computer.
After you have the new rev D switchboard then simply apply the saved config.

1) RMA the rev B/C WS3

RMA us the switch, and we will replace the switchboard and send it back to you free of charge.

Please go to our RMA site to handle generating the RMA and follow instructions there before shipping us the switch.

or

2) Acquire replacement switchboard from netonix store, swap and send us the old one for reimbursement

If you prefer, you can also replace the switchboard yourself by purchasing a replacement from our store

If you choose this method please be sure to note to us during this purchase what the MAC address of your switch is.

The box we send to you will contain a calltag, send us the undamaged old rev B or C board with the calltag and we will reimburse your payment.

Shipping and handling is free.

User avatar
wtm
Experienced Member
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:17 am
Location: Arizona
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: To those who purchased WS3 rev B or C

Tue Mar 16, 2021 9:07 pm

Instead of reversing the payment, can we get another switch?

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 7113
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1567 times
Been thanked: 1281 times

Re: To those who purchased WS3 rev B or C

Tue Mar 16, 2021 9:31 pm

wtm wrote:Instead of reversing the payment, can we get another switch?


I am not sure what your asking?
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 297 times
Been thanked: 371 times

Re: To those who purchased WS3 rev B or C

Tue Mar 16, 2021 9:37 pm

wtm wrote:Instead of reversing the payment, can we get another switch?

Option 1
If you RMA your switch, you will get a new board in your chassis and not have any payment to reverse.

Option 2 is for those that don't want as much downtime that an RMA entails.

If you want a complete switch swap, Netonix would be stuck with your old used chassis that cannot be sold as new.

User avatar
Brough
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:40 pm
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: To those who purchased WS3 rev B or C

Thu Mar 25, 2021 10:49 am

Since we will be deploying more of these switches in the future, the best for us would be to:
- buy two new switches;
- swap them for the deployed beta switches to absolutely minimize downtime.
- then take your option 1, i.e. get the beta switches upgraded via RMA and have them available for future deployments.

But your web site says WS3-14-600-AC switches are out of stock!

When do you expect to have new inventory?
Is there a way to put in an order now?

Return to Hardware and software issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests