VLAN forwarding/learning broken in 1.5.5 (and a workaround)

DOWNLOAD THE LATEST FIRMWARE HERE
User avatar
yahel
Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 12:07 am
Location: Berkeley, CA
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 11 times

VLAN forwarding/learning broken in 1.5.5 (and a workaround)

Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:32 pm

Chris and team - please read carefully, no skimming please -- this is a big deal!

Here are the steps I took.Makes it easy to reproduce the problem (only on out-of-the-box new switches preinstalled with 1.5.5) and how I "fixed" it.

1. Upgraded 40+ routers to 1.5.5, using Netonix-manager -- uneventful, success.

2. Received a batch of new switches - model WS-12-250-DCPreloaded with 1.5.5 (Board Rev F, PS-Firmware 70, PS-rev B) - identical to the 40+ which we had before.

3. Connected a router (Mikrotik) to a port, configured the port as Trunk, management untagged, moved the 192.168.1.X IP on the router to VLAN1 on that port, success -- access to the router restored - config saved (no roll-ack).

4. Added a VLAN. Untagged a port on that VLAN -- kept the trunk tagged.
No forwarding between the Mikrotik router and the device on the untagged port!

5. Uploaded firmware (downgrade) 1.5.3 -- no configuration changes ---
everything is working fine!Switching between the router and the device on the untagged port, using IPs assigned to the VLAN in the router is working fine.

6. Upgraded firmware back to 1.5.5 -- no configuration changes --- everything is STILL working fine!

7. Reset to factory defaults, then repeated steps 3 & 4 (step 4 failed before), now everything is STILL working fine.

8. Tried the same with another BRAND-NEW switch -- from the new batch -- same thing!No VLAN forwarding on 1.5.5 !!!
Same problem!!Downgrade to 1.5.3 fixes the problem.
Upgrade back to 1.5.5 -- problem stays fixed!

Hypothesis -- something is missing in 1.5.5 that enables VLAN forwarding.
This something exists in 1.5.3, and it persists after upgrades and configuration changes.
The persistent fix remains fixed after:warm-startcold-startreset-to-factory-defaults
(In other words, once a switch is downgraded to 1.5.3 it gets fixed -- I cannot find a way to break it in that way again --- persistent bit in the switch-chip?).

WIthout first downgrading to 1.5.3 nothing else solved the problem -- there was simply no packet forwarding (on the VLAN).
I tried warm and cold reset (didn't try reset to defaults).

==============================Additional bugs =====================
(tested in 1.5.5 -- might exist in older versions as well).

* Rollback does not work for VLAN changes when UI loss and rever-timer elapses.

* Reordering of VLANs (drag) makes the watchdog IPs disappear...There's never a watchdog-IP on the top VLAN, regardless of it's number.
Feature? Bug?

* In discovery tab, hitting the reload (two round arrows on top right), results in page reload -- and it exists the discovery tab to the default "status" tab.
I have never seen this before today -- this is on Firefox (which I rarely use -- could that be it?).

Thanks,

Yahel.

User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 170 times

Re: VLAN forwarding/learning broken in 1.5.5 (and a workarou

Thu Jun 18, 2020 2:55 am

What type of mikrotik do you have? I have a few myself but I'd like to try and use the exact same setup for the test if possible.

User avatar
yahel
Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 12:07 am
Location: Berkeley, CA
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: VLAN forwarding/learning broken in 1.5.5 (and a workarou

Thu Jun 18, 2020 2:57 am

the exact model is detailed in the post... please read carefully, as suggested...

User avatar
Dave
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 158 times

Re: VLAN forwarding/learning broken in 1.5.5 (and a workarou

Thu Jun 18, 2020 7:15 am

he was asking which model of the mikrotik router you are using...I do not see that detailed in post...

User avatar
yahel
Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 12:07 am
Location: Berkeley, CA
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: VLAN forwarding/learning broken in 1.5.5 (and a workarou

Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:06 pm

Apologies, Stephen -- one of my team members notified me that I've overlooked your question (about which MIKROTIK) !
I did - I thought you are asking about which model of Netonix --- my bad... Sorry and apologies for being rude..

I don't think it's relevant, but I have tested with two different types of Mikrotik and seen the same:
hEX-r3 (RB750Gr3) running 6.42.5
and
RB962UiGS-5HacT2HnT running 6.44.6

Thanks,

Yahel.

User avatar
Stephen
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:56 pm
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 170 times

Re: VLAN forwarding/learning broken in 1.5.5 (and a workarou

Thu Jun 18, 2020 6:52 pm

Hey yahel, no worries I didn't feel like you where being rude.

It may not matter, but I like to try and keep my environments as close to reported bugs as possible just in case. Thanks!

valnet
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:54 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: VLAN forwarding/learning broken in 1.5.5 (and a workarou

Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:57 pm

Interesting, I may have the same problem in viewtopic.php?f=17&t=6190

And I see a very similar problem reported in viewtopic.php?f=17&t=6186

I would like to try downgrading to 1.5.3 then upgrading back to 1.5.5 as you suggested, but I'm having trouble finding the 1.5.3 firmware file. Does anybody have a link to the file?

Edit. Found it at firmware/archive/wispswitch-1.5.3.bin

valnet
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 2:54 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: VLAN forwarding/learning broken in 1.5.5 (and a workarou

Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:29 pm

Confirmed, downgrading to 1.5.3 was able to forward packets, upgrading back to 1.5.5 continued forwarding packets properly.

Return to Hardware and software issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 59 guests