Netonix switch deployment in Hampshire, UK

Forum rules
THIS FORUM IS FOR PICTURES AND STORIES ONLY, PLEASE DO NOT POST QUESTIONS HERE!
User avatar
gr0mit
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 12:58 pm
Location: Hampshire, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Netonix switch deployment in Hampshire, UK

Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:21 pm

We've been deploying a new network in Hampshire, and took the decision to use gigabit equipment throughout. The DC Netonix switches at our main POPs both have battery backup. The attached photo shows our main POP with a Mikrotik router and a DC Netonix switch, feedin three backhauls and a local sector. We've put in a sub-meter to measure power in case of any queries with the landlord's electricitty bill in future!

The enclosure Schneider external grade. We are using Ubiquitii Airmax AC equipment on all ports. We monitor all of the things using SNMP and LibreNMS, as well as TheDude from Mikrotik, with Nagios also sending alerts for events such as power failure by looking at the battery terminal voltage
IMG_20171106_112358604-a.jpg
New POP showing Netonix switch and Mikrotik router

Screenshot 2017-12-30 16.15.59.png
This week's power failure due to overhead line damage


Hope this is of interest.

Rgds
Tim Robinson
TxRx Communications Ltd
Basingstoke, UK

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6563
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1497 times
Been thanked: 1163 times

Re: Netonix switch deployment in Hampshire, UK

Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:49 pm

The SMART DC switches WS-8-150-DC, WS-12-250-DC, and WS-26-500-DC should be hooked directly to the batteries then hook your charger to the batteries.

From what I can see in the picture your powering the switch from the meanwell power supply/charger?

The meanwell is 27.6V @ 2.25 amps or 62 watts

The switch power supply is 250 watts which if your going to power with a power supply should be 300+ watts to deal with the inrush demands of the switch power supply. but better yet why not use a meanwell 48V-54V power supply / charger and then use the WS-12-DC which is designed to hook to a power supply not a battery.

So where as I like your install I think you will incur issues unless you hook the switch directly to the batteries as the power supply is too small.

When you hook the switch to the batteries directly as suggested the switch will drain the batteries the charger will kick in and charge them then kick off and cycle like this but this is OK behavior with good AGM or deep cycle batteries which are designed to do this.

smart.png
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

User avatar
gr0mit
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 12:58 pm
Location: Hampshire, United Kingdom
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Netonix switch deployment in Hampshire, UK

Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:15 pm

Hi
Interesting comment, thanks. I've checked the power consumption in its steady state at around 1A so well under 50% load on the Meanwell.
Screenshot 2017-12-31 16.09.26.png
Screenshot 2017-12-31 16.09.26.png (19.06 KiB) Viewed 3878 times

If I was running high power kit I'd agree, but then I'd have chosen a higher power PSU in the first place. Could you elaborate on what problems you envisage me encountering given the load I'm putting on the PSU? I can easily reconfigure if needed, but before I do that I want to be certain it's going to improve something!

Thanks

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 265 times
Been thanked: 315 times

Re: Netonix switch deployment in Hampshire, UK

Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:31 pm

It looks like that charge controller has less amps available to the charge circuit than the load circuit so by hooking the Netonix directly to the battery all the current would need to go through the charge circuit. I say if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 6563
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1497 times
Been thanked: 1163 times

Re: Netonix switch deployment in Hampshire, UK

Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:22 pm

I would like to see people who want to use a power supply to power our DC switches to use the units designed for that purpose.

It would mean that they would need a power supply / charger that is 48V to 54V but then they can use the WS-12-DC or WS-26-DC

If your going to power a SMART DC unit with a power supply which you can you need to oversize the power supply feeding the SMART DC SWITCH to handle in rush.

Just keep in mind your powering a 250 watt power supply with a power supply that is only 62 watts.

Keep in mind that at start up the WS-12-250-DC pulls 300+/- watts onrush for a few microseconds.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

ripv
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 7:56 pm
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Netonix switch deployment in Hampshire, UK

Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:26 pm

If you had time I would love to see an equipment list/bill of materials and an explanation of how everything is connected up including fusing etc.

In any case looks like a nice tidy installation :)

Just one thing, looks like you are not using shielded cable?

Return to WISP Switch™

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest