WS-12-250-DC Dropping POE voltage

User avatar
mike@surfglobal.net
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:24 pm
Location: St. Albans, VT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

WS-12-250-DC Dropping POE voltage

Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:35 am

As we are upgrading sites to Ubiquiti AC Prism Gen2 radios we see conditions where both this DC model and AC Model will drop the POE voltage in mass causing all the connected AP's to reboot at the same time and nothing in the log file. The only fix we have found is to power the radios via Ubiquiti POE. . Running the latest firmware 1.4.8. Any thoughts?

User avatar
Julian
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 9:47 am
Location: Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: WS-12-250-DC Dropping POE voltage

Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:40 am

latest firmware is 1.4.9, available on these forums, not sure that that will change anything re: this issue.

Can you elaborate on the conditions you're seeing and the configuration you're trying to make happen?

Thanks!
Name: Julian
Title: Tech Monkey Extraordinaire
Email: Julian@Netonix.com
Famous Last Words: "-should- work.. ish"

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 989
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 253 times
Been thanked: 303 times

Re: WS-12-250-DC Dropping POE voltage

Tue Jan 02, 2018 12:23 pm

How do you know the PoE voltage is dropping? Are you trending it with SNMP or seeing event log entries?

User avatar
mike@surfglobal.net
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:24 pm
Location: St. Albans, VT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WS-12-250-DC Dropping POE voltage

Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:08 pm

1.4.9 wasn't out when we were experiencing the issues a week ago. We know the voltage has to be dropping because 4-6 AP on a switch will all reboot in unison so it has to be the voltage. To me it looks like the AC Prism Gen2 radio draw possibly enough extra current so when you start loading a switch up with them it triggers some sort of overload condition in the switch. The switch is never close to its max power draw and its not dropping based on the power priority so its not a controlled shedding of devices. Its triggering some sort of bug or design flaw.

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 989
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 253 times
Been thanked: 303 times

Re: WS-12-250-DC Dropping POE voltage

Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:27 pm

mike@surfglobal.net wrote:We know the voltage has to be dropping because 4-6 AP on a switch will all reboot in unison so it has to be the voltage...

In the absence of empirical data, it could be circumstance. Could they also be seeing the same broadcast packets and be the cause for reboot? How frequent and repeatable is this? Could you take one or two of the radios and power them via PoE brick to see if they still go down?

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 989
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 253 times
Been thanked: 303 times

Re: WS-12-250-DC Dropping POE voltage

Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:29 pm

Also, could there be a ground potential shift that is triggering the remote reset circuit?

User avatar
mike@surfglobal.net
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:24 pm
Location: St. Albans, VT
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: WS-12-250-DC Dropping POE voltage

Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:23 pm

They work fine off the Ubiquiti POE's.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 5869
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1409 times
Been thanked: 1034 times

Re: WS-12-250-DC Dropping POE voltage

Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:06 am

Please upgrade to v1.4.9 as there is an IMPORTANT FIX for the new UBNT Discovery protocol which can cause issues.

More information is needed to help.

Please post up the following TABs:
Status
Ports
Power
Device/Status

What is powering the WS-12-250-DC?

Is there and electrical service at this site and if so are the service ground rods bonded to the tower ground RODs?
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

Return to Hardware and software issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest