No 24V available on WS6 Mini port 2

simon1
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 1:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

No 24V available on WS6 Mini port 2

Thu Aug 11, 2016 8:35 pm

Hi

WS6 mini.. On port 2 I have the option for 24VH or 48VH, but no option for plain old 24V for Unifi.
I'm doubtless doing something silly, but I just can't see what....

S

User avatar
lligetfa
Associate
Associate
 
Posts: 898
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 12:12 pm
Location: Fort Frances Ont. Canada
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 259 times

Re: No 24V available on WS6 Mini port 2

Thu Aug 11, 2016 10:48 pm

Nothing silly, it's just the way it is.

mlow
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:17 pm
Location: Crawford Bay
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: No 24V available on WS6 Mini port 2

Fri Aug 26, 2016 6:25 pm

Sorry to bring this topic back up..
My first REV F mini switch doesn't have 24VH as an option on port 2 any more, but the MINI's product page still says "The only switch line on the market that can deliver 1.5A of 24V or 48V on all 4 pairs (24VH and 48VH)."... yes.. except the WS-6-MINI, which now apparently only supports 48V on all 4 pairs on port 2, and only regular 24V over 2 pairs ports 2-6. The POE output table below that statement has it correct, it no longer mentions 24VH being available on any port. Even the label on it (which calls it the "WS-6-POE") has the indicator for 24VH.. kind of to tease you.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 5081
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1250 times
Been thanked: 935 times

Re: No 24V available on WS6 Mini port 2

Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:51 pm

mlow wrote:Sorry to bring this topic back up..
My first REV F mini switch doesn't have 24VH as an option on port 2 any more, but the MINI's product page still says "The only switch line on the market that can deliver 1.5A of 24V or 48V on all 4 pairs (24VH and 48VH)."... yes.. except the WS-6-MINI, which now apparently only supports 48V on all 4 pairs on port 2, and only regular 24V over 2 pairs ports 2-6. The POE output table below that statement has it correct, it no longer mentions 24VH being available on any port. Even the label on it (which calls it the "WS-6-POE") has the indicator for 24VH.. kind of to tease you.


We removed the 24VH option as it is no longer needed for AFX radios and too many people thought if 24V made an airMAX radio run good then 24VH would supercharge it :crazy:

Only other radio on the market that will deal with 24VH is Ignite MetroLink and it will work fine with our 24V so we thought is was more important to offer 24V, 48V, and 48VH then it was to continue to support 24VH on the WS-6-MINI as more people had situations where they needed another 24V or 48V port and not a 24VH port.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

jluthman
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:05 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: No 24V available on WS6 Mini port 2

Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:13 pm

sirhc wrote: We removed the 24VH option as it is no longer needed for AFX radios and too many people thought if 24V made an airMAX radio run good then 24VH would supercharge it


Ubiquiti tells me that you should have 24VH (specifically four pair power) for "longer runs" on AF5x. Should we expect 24V to work at ~300 feet of cat5?

If you read this post: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1215#p9040
Image


You will learn that all new AFX radios now support up to 48VH so you can power an AFX radio as follows:
24V POE option up to about 160' of cable
24VH POE option up to 326' of cable
48V POE option up to about 250' of cable
48VH POE option up to 326' of cable

So you see we decided to remove the 24VH option on port 2 of the WS-6-MINI to allow more options like being able to power airMAX radios since you can NOT use VH option to power airMAX radios.

Up to Rev E WS-6-MINI Port 2 POE options: 24VH and 48VH which limited it to airFIBER radios and other high power radios ONLY

Rev F WS-6-MINI Port 2 POE options: 24V, 48V, and 48VH which allows many more POE options for more radios.

The only radios on the market now that can use 24VH is AFX and Ignite MetroLink all other radios will burn on 24VH but why use 24VH for AFX radios when you can use 24V,48V, and 48VH. And the MetroLink works fine wit our 24V POE option as reported by many people including me at my WISP.

This has been dicussed countless times on the forum already, I did a quick search and found this post quick:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1960&p=14837&hilit=+Rev+MINI#p14837

jluthman
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:05 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: No 24V available on WS6 Mini port 2

Thu Nov 17, 2016 3:29 pm

Right but I am using a DC WispSwitch and it's fed with 24v. I would prefer to stick with 24v in and out to keep efficiency higher and run time longer.

EDIT: Also I have a couple of the earlier MACs that aren't able to do 48v which happen to be on a 255 foot tower, roughly 300 foot cat5. This will absolutely require 24v and 24vh is a much smarter option.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 5081
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1250 times
Been thanked: 935 times

Re: No 24V available on WS6 Mini port 2

Thu Nov 17, 2016 3:38 pm

jluthman wrote:Right but I am using a DC WispSwitch and it's fed with 24v. I would prefer to stick with 24v in and out to keep efficiency higher and run time longer.

EDIT: Also I have a couple of the earlier MACs that aren't able to do 48v which happen to be on a 255 foot tower, roughly 300 foot cat5. This will absolutely require 24v and 24vh is a much smarter option.


OK but the logic is the same, you do NOT need 24VH for AFX radios as you can use 24V, 48V, or 48VH

And it does not matter what voltage you feed the WS-8-150-DC it upconverts all voltage to 50V internally as a base line then down converts to 24V as needed.

The same logic is with all our switches AC or DC the power supply outputs 50V to the board then the board either passes that out as 48V or down converts to 24V.

If we used a power supply that had dual voltage output it could cost more to build.

Just like the ToughSWITCH AC power supply outputs 48V then on the switchboard it converts 48V to 24V as needed.

And of course we down convert 50V to 5V, 3.3V, 1.5V, 1V and all the other voltages we need to run the switch.

But your original question was what POE option should I use to power an AFX radio and the answer is 48VH is preferred but 48V would be second choice, and 24V is OK for short cable runs.

I run a WISP as well and I power AFX radios with 24V, 48V, 24VH, and 48VH depending on what ports I have available and the cable length.

But whatever voltage you feed a radio it immediately down converts it to 5V, 3.3v, 1.5V, and 1V as everything in the radios uses those voltages.
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

jluthman
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:05 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: No 24V available on WS6 Mini port 2

Thu Nov 17, 2016 3:42 pm

That's definitely good information to know, thanks for the insight!

Unfortunately my 24v only radios are on longer cable runs so I will end up using 24vh for the time being. In time if I need to move I will migrate to 48v and a new AF5x radio.

User avatar
sirhc
Employee
Employee
 
Posts: 5081
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:48 pm
Location: Lancaster, PA
Has thanked: 1250 times
Been thanked: 935 times

Re: No 24V available on WS6 Mini port 2

Thu Nov 17, 2016 4:18 pm

jluthman wrote:That's definitely good information to know, thanks for the insight!

Unfortunately my 24v only radios are on longer cable runs so I will end up using 24vh for the time being. In time if I need to move I will migrate to 48v and a new AF5x radio.


OK So you do realize that you can NOT use 24VH on airMAX radios?

In fact the ONLY radios on the market that can use 24VH are AFX radios and MetroLink Radios and if it is an AFX radio you can/should use 48V or 48VH

What radio do you need 24VH for??????????????
Support is handled on the Forums not in Emails and PMs.
Before you ask a question use the Search function to see it has been answered before.
To do an Advanced Search click the magnifying glass in the Search Box.
To upload pictures click the Upload attachment link below the BLUE SUBMIT BUTTON.

Return to Hardware and software issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest